We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing there. out of the way. miles from anywhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Of La Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Of La Mesa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
hartlepool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nothing there. out of the way. miles from anywhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

travelodge ok but its miles from anywhere. if you are not driveing then dont stop here!. nice rooms & didnt know breakfast was included until got there. we had to walk a good 25 mins to get the trolly, then its a 35min journey to get to downtown. only bonus near there was a chinese buffet all you can eat for £6.50. it was strange we didnt even see anyone walking around. glad we only did 2 days here. it was enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONEYHARTLEPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    191
    103
    59
    185
See reviews for
292
128
126
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Earlier this month, we drove to Oregon and spent the night at the Travelodge in Redding, California. Great property! Turns out that the manager of that property gave a rave review of this one in La Mesa and as we were going to be in San Diego this week - we spent a night at the La Mesa Travelodge too. Excellent value, super clean, hot water and strong showers, LCD HDTVs that actually work, comfortable beds, decent breakfast offerings. High speed internet works well. Further, wonderful staff works hard to make sure stay is OK. Only complaint is that the bathroom vanity and mirror are meant for people at least six feet tall or higher. My wife and I are not so it was a bit of a stretch! Interesting change, no lamps - recessed lighting with dimmers in several areas of the room. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Stayed 5 nights here with 2 adults, 2 kids for a family vacation. Hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful with printed directions and advice. Location was excellent to highways and close to a large grocery store. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were large and clean, with a fridge, microwave and a room safe! Bathrooms were clean. Beds comfortable. The pool was very nice and warm but tricky and unsafe to walk to along narrow walkway having to dodge many room air conditioners sticking out from the wall. The breakfast was simple and fresh and was replenished constantly - also, it always extended by at least 1/2-1 hour each day! It was kept very clean. Anything we asked for was delivered to our room immediately. Would stay here again. Excellent Travelodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on July 09. Friendly staff made me feel welcome and they answered all my questions with best of their knowledge. My room was really clean and there was already a welcome note in the room with my name on it which shows that room was checked before I check in. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to spend another night in San Diego, but I definitely consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

As I checked in around 11:30 PM I told the receptionist that my group had two cars; she wrote down descriptions of them and checked me in, no questions, no mention of a one-vehicle policy. A little while later, as my buddy in the second car was bringing in luggage, he was told to move his car out of the lot. He initially balked, citing the 11 empty parking spaces (it was after midnight) and the fact that we weren't initially told of this restriction . When the receptionist was short with him, he insisted on speaking to the manager (who was not on site and not available by phone), but he did comply and move his car first. A few minutes later we were asked to leave. I questioned the receptionist as to whether my friend had been rude, offensive, threatening, or whatever.... she clearly stated that he hadn't. I asked why, then, we were being kicked out.... she said because my friend was unhappy with the parking situation. She threatened to call the cops, so we packed up and left.

Still astonished, I called the manager after a couple of days and asked why we had been kicked out, expecting him to say that there had been a misunderstanding. Instead, he said that because my friend had complained and was unhappy, we were asked to leave. I kid you not.

I know it sounds like there's more to this story, but I swear that's it. According to the receptionist, my buddy with the second car never raised his voice or used offensive language or anything else. She told me that he "was never out of line."

Bottom line: if you go there, don't let the management know that you're unsatisfied with anything, or else they might kick you out. The manager told me, and I quote, "We can't have unhappy customers." Their solution to that is to kick unhappy customers out on the street at 12:30 AM.

Nice place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pooahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Mesa hotels

Northern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting my daughter and found the room extremely comfortable and clean. The staff and service people were always friendly and available. My room was cleaned only when I wanted and left as it was if I put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I will stay in this hotel every time I come to La Mesa.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We were looking for something cheap in San Diego and stumbled upon this. Very clean rooms, good breakfast and freindly service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dczarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Of La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Of La Mesa

Property: Lodge Of La Mesa
Address: 7911 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942-5518 (Formerly Travelodge la Mesa CA)
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge Of La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lodge Of La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
Travel Lodge La Mesa
La Mesa Travelodge
La Mesa Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing