We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Of La Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Of La Mesa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We were looking for something cheap in San Diego and stumbled upon this. Very clean rooms, good breakfast and freindly service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dczarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    191
    103
    59
    185
See reviews for
292
128
126
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Single mom traveling with young child - felt very safe and welcome. Our room was wonderful, we stayed 7 nights and had plenty of room to spread out, microwave and fridge were a great plus. Everything was very clean. Walking distance to grocery store and restaurants. Hotel provides printed directions to all area locations - literally within 15 minutes of SD Zoo, Sea World, Airport, beach, etc. Pool is adequate size for size of hotel. Free, easy, internet access from room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I had to make a trip to the area and needed a room for one night, I read all of the reviews and decided to stay at the travelodge. We were so surprised it was extremely clean, well cared for, the room was very nice, they had even placed a snack basket in the room. The sheets were nice and fitted, towels were nice and for the price we paid we didn't expect such a bargin which this was. The front desk staff were very pleasant. we would stay there again and refer others I am a retired executive housekeeper at a 5 star hotel in Las Vegas and very picky, and this hotel got a thumbs up from us. Thank you Sheeta good job.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akasandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

If you are not staying in the Gaslamp district or someplace else central this is a good location. You will need a car though. The rooms where clean and the staff was very nice. Breakfast was a little hectic because it is in a tiny area of the lobby but its not that important anyway. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Very reasonable rates, cleanliness, and staff who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant- what more can you want??? Stayed on business, took wife and daughter as an add-on vacation. Front desk staff was very friendly upon arrival. Room was very clean and in good condition. All amenities (soaps/iron/etc.). Small, but nice pool. Good location near hwy and Von's supermarket. Staff solved issues immediately- safe was locked, front desk came and opened- toilet blockage (our fault!), room service manager cleaned and unblocked immediately. Room always nicely made each day...(Don't forget to tip the hardworking room service staff!) 20-30 minutes drive (San Diego has lots of highways) to La Jolla/ Mission Beach, etc. 10 min. to Mission Valley (big shopping!) Inexpensive, quality washers/ dryers. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HubBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed here for the first night of our trip to the west coast and was pleasantly surprised. Had some problems at check-in as the reservation was in my name but my dad arrived there early. After a few calls to Expedia everything was sorted and he checked in.

We spent nearly all our time away from the hotel but the rooms and beds were comfortable and the area felt pretty safe. We had no problem finding a space in the car park and the free breakfast bits were nice! We had a car so the location wasn't an issue, we'd happily stay here again when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeclissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

My family and I booked 5 rooms for our family members through Expedia.com. The rates were extremely low ($55.00/room) and the reviews seemed wonderful. Well, upon arrival, my sister (a 1st grade teacher), her 3 children (honor role students), my mother (disabled 74 year old who relies on a walker), myself (5th grade teacher) husband and daughter-in-law (yes, another teacher!) were told to leave. The young lady at the desk accused my sister and her family with being 'belligerent and using profanity (NOT TRUE! Shame on them for this ridiculous accusation!), and the manager told them to leave. When I arrived, the manager wouldn't come to the desk, and the clerk remained silent. My husband, a retired USAF Chief Master Sergeant, and I finally spoke to the manager who, by the way, refused to identify himself. Incidentally, his name wasn't on display at the front desk, either. He simply sneered at us, and told us to leave. We travel extensively, and were completely taken aback by his and the clerk's unprofessional and exceedingly abherent behavior. He refused to explain (as had the clerk) what the supposed 'profanities' were, and just kept ordering us to leave. Well, as it turns out, this was the weekend of the Miramar Airshow, and, as we learned, the other local motels were booked to capacity. Perhaps this manager was miffed at the extra low rates we'd paid, and was filling rooms with airshow visitors who were paying the standard rate. At any rate, it was absolutely the worst impression a town could earn for itself, as well! We had traveled to Santee for our nephew's First Communion celebration, and found ourselves being treated like criminals...literally tossed out! We will never consider booking another Travelodge again, and we are continuing our investigation of this matter. Travelodge Corporation would do well to investigate whoever was on duty that day; Saturday, May 16th, 2009. On a positive note, we ended up booking some wonderful rooms at the Embassy Suites in La Jolla (yes, there were no other options in La Mesa nor Santee that night. Two hours of looking led us to our refuge.) Once again, I exhort all travelers to avoid the La Mesa Travelodge.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank markhamteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Mesa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Of La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Of La Mesa

Property: Lodge Of La Mesa
Address: 7911 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942-5518 (Formerly Travelodge la Mesa CA)
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge Of La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lodge Of La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
Travel Lodge La Mesa
La Mesa Travelodge
La Mesa Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing