We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not a good place for a family, in particular kids or babies. I had booked two rooms non-smoking, they day we arrived one of the rooms smelled serious cigarette. I had to call the front desk person to come check, even he smell the same. This happened consistently for 3 days which was inconvenience since I had family and a kid and they couldn't do much about it .

Bed were not comfortable confusing advertizement, water kept jamming in the sink area in both rooms. I will think ten times before going there, hopefully they will work on this errors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear a complaint from you and appreciate your concern. Though I fail to understand how come such a minor problem was not sorted out during your stay. I personally checked the room you had stayed and found no problem in it though for safer side had made sure to snake the pipeline and clear it hence the same complaint should not be repeated.

Once again accept my apology.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice basic two star hotel. Clean room, good bed, all conveniences worked fine. Shows signs of wear. i.e. shower/tub area had worn porcelain. Very helpful staff. Location is in a "questionable" area of town, but I felt quite safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Sir,
I appreciate your concern and have noted and taken necessary steps for the same.

Once again accept my apology.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I guess I should have expected what I found, but I hoped for the best. Some reviews were positive, even though lots were negative. I have to give the place only a 2 because there was a rip on the chair arm and in the curtains that looked like they'd been there for a long time. Also, the bathtub had black stains on it. The carpet is thin, like indoor/outdoor carpet of the 70's.
A couple nice things were the two different rooms (that made the suite). One had a king-sized bed and the other had a sofa bed with a TV, a small refrigerator and microwave oven. There was coffee in the room as well as a blowdryer.
The bedroom also had a TV. but the power button on BOTH TVs were punched in.
The breakfast was just cold cereal and milk, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Sorry for the inconvenience, but I would like to inform you that we have already placed an order for New 39" LED TV's for all rooms as well as placed an order for new Drapes & Pull out sofa bed. All these things shall be replaced by the end of the month.

I really appreciate your concern and have taken serious action for the same.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although we paid $100, I guess that is really my fault for not making reservations in advance and getting a lower rate. However, the "suite" was more like a hotel room divided by a bathroom. The TV's need to be replaced, the pool was more like a large jacuzzi and the breakfast was cereal and toast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Sorry for the inconvenience, but I would like to inform you that we have already placed an order for New 39" LED TV's for all rooms as well as placed an order for new Drapes & Pull out sofa bed. All these things shall be replaced by the end of the month.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

1. I was charged more for a non smoking room than smoking room
2. Some of the light did not work
3. The room had a odor.
4. The bedsheet had stains
5. The shower was dirty
6. The blinds were dirty

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I apologize for the inconvenience.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For a family looking to enjoy a week in San Diego, this hotel is great. For the price, it's tough to beat. Highly recommended if you want a place to crash after a day at the zoo or beach. The room set-up let's you put the kids to bed in the back bedroom while the adults can watch tv and recover in the small living area. With that said, this is an older hotel (70's decor) with no frills, but the full kitchen and central location make up for the lack of style. The area is safe, the freeway is near, and both a Costco, 99 Cent Store, IHOP, and Denny's are all within 2 miles. So if you're on a budget, stay here for about 1/2 of the cost of Mission Valley/Hotel Circle. Two things to take note of, the air conditioning only cools the front sitting area (think old window vent) and the pool is only open on the weekend. But it's San Diego, the breeze is usually good and who needs a pool when you have the ocean?

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a 1st floor, there are no elevators and lugging coolers and kids up the sta...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologize for your inconvenience and also thank you for the honest opinion given by you. We have considered your review and have taken immediate steps for the best of our hotel.

Once again accept my apology.

Thanking you

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
0.6 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
7.6 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Hotel Circle Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU

Address: 7475 El Cajon Blvd, La Mesa, CA 91942-7401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: $62 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn & Suites located on El Cajon Blvd. La Mesa San Diego Ca 92142 near SDSU. Its the only hotel in the area with all rooms suites having a living room & a bed room. Few rooms also have Kichenettes with 4 Burner Flat Top Cooking range & oven,2 door refrigirator & Microwave.All other rooms has a refrigirator & microwave.Something unique about our hotel: 2 TV in each rooms.(one in the living room & second in the bedroom).Our hotel offer free continental breakfast served from 6.30 am to 9.30 am.Our hotel offers free wifi in all rooms and more then 65 TV channel including HBO, TNT. ESPN and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn La Mesa Suites - San Diego Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing