We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

For a family looking to enjoy a week in San Diego, this hotel is great. For the price, it's tough to beat. Highly recommended if you want a place to crash after a day at the zoo or beach. The room set-up let's you put the kids to bed in the back bedroom while the adults can watch tv and recover in the small living area. With that said, this is an older hotel (70's decor) with no frills, but the full kitchen and central location make up for the lack of style. The area is safe, the freeway is near, and both a Costco, 99 Cent Store, IHOP, and Denny's are all within 2 miles. So if you're on a budget, stay here for about 1/2 of the cost of Mission Valley/Hotel Circle. Two things to take note of, the air conditioning only cools the front sitting area (think old window vent) and the pool is only open on the weekend. But it's San Diego, the breeze is usually good and who needs a pool when you have the ocean?

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a 1st floor, there are no elevators and lugging coolers and kids up the sta...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologize for your inconvenience and also thank you for the honest opinion given by you. We have considered your review and have taken immediate steps for the best of our hotel.

Once again accept my apology.

Thanking you

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

When I first arrived I was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the room. However, the internet speed was impossibly slow. I tried to upload vacation photos to Facebook and gave up after almost 30 minutes of waiting. The Continental breakfast was spartan. Only 2 kinds of cold cereal, bread, some muffins and danish, fruit (which was picked over before 8 am) coffee & milk and that's it. I bought some microwave sausage so I wouldn't feel hungry long before lunch time. I've had other Days Inn breakfasts that had many more choices. Also my key card didn't work on two occasions. The front desk staff happily fixed that for me but it shouldn't have happened so easily in the first place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylewag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologize for your inconvenience and apologize for the same.

For your information, since our room locks are electronic and the key cards have a magnetic strip on it and if the key card is placed near any electronic device or cell phone etc. it demagnetize and stops working hence it has be rekeyed at the front desk.

Secondly regarding the breakfast have noted your comment and shall take action for the same.

Thanking you

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is old, but that would be okay if the condition of the rooms was up to par, and they are not. I have never felt compelled to write a review before, but I have never stayed in a hotel like this. Rust in the tub, smelly old furniture ( and I do mean smelly I put my personal towel on it before sitting on it and it caused my towel to smell), the toliet is loose and hits the wall when used, the carpet is old and I wouldn't walk on it barefooted, the hot tub is peeling, and the room just smells...those are all the REALLY bad things. This hotel needs major renuevations. On the bright side the floor in the bathroom is new, and the rooms appear to be freshly painted so maybe in the future they will improve. The pictures do not match the current conditions, and I do not feel that half the price I spent was worth this stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I apologize for your inconvenience and have inspected almost all rooms but could not find any thing as per your comment... We are all the time upgrading our hotel rooms round the year and take care of each and every comment or complaint..

Anyway shall take care of your comment and appreciate your positive comment too.

Thanking you

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnLaMesaLaMesa, Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
0.6 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
7.6 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Hotel Circle Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU

Address: 7475 El Cajon Blvd, La Mesa, CA 91942-7401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn & Suites located on El Cajon Blvd. La Mesa San Diego Ca 92142 near SDSU. Its the only hotel in the area with all rooms suites having a living room & a bed room. Few rooms also have Kichenettes with 4 Burner Flat Top Cooking range & oven,2 door refrigirator & Microwave.All other rooms has a refrigirator & microwave.Something unique about our hotel: 2 TV in each rooms.(one in the living room & second in the bedroom).Our hotel offer free continental breakfast served from 6.30 am to 9.30 am.Our hotel offers free wifi in all rooms and more then 65 TV channel including HBO, TNT. ESPN and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn La Mesa Suites - San Diego Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing