We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Expedia.com
$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
ZenHotels.com
$106
View deal
HolidayInn.com$110
Priceline$110
Trip.com$113
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
75
103
48
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
103
48
29
23
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 278 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

the hotel was old but the room was big and clean. we stay at family room. no breakfast included but there were some restaurants near the hotel. the hoter is 15 min from san diego down town. the staff was helpful and they give us all we nead.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nooraamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Had to make a last minute cancellation at hotel due to injury and was out of the cancellation policy set by Travelocity. Worked with Art, the manager at Holiday Inn, he was very gracious and provided us a full refund for our reservation.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank acuengraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Stayed here for a business trip and was very pleased with the hotel and staff. The rooms were clean, the staff was extremely friendly and made my trip a breeze. Two thumbs up. I will definitely come back for all my business trips to San Diego!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amykI4567SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Dear AmykI4567SS,

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us at Holiday Inn La Mesa was phenomenal. Our entire staff takes great care and effort to ensure the best experience for every guest and we are delighted to know that we didn't fall short. Thank you kindly for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Holiday Inn La Mesa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Check in was very smooth and rooms were ready right on time! The room was quite roomy especially for San Diego and the room was very clean and well stocked for the amount of travelers we had with us. Enjoyed having a small refrigerator in the room, a microwave would have completed the set up nicely, but, you cant have everything when you aren't at home. Beds were pretty good at least in my opinion, for some people they may feel that they are a little firm but I have slept in many that are worse. One nice feature is that the room was not humid at all and in San Diego that is a plus, I hate a musty smell! This hotel is a little further out from where we normally stay, but, there were plenty of restaurants around the area and access to the freeway was very easy. Only about 10-15 minutes to downtown. The area was pretty quiet as well. My family will definitely be staying at this location again! Only tip, Housekeeping needs to remove the room service tray from outside the laundry room area in a more timely fashion, the people that use the back elevator don't enjoy looking at remnants of peoples meals.

Room tip: rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter due to the car wash across the street
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonetta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Dear Tonetta40,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our staff service and central location exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the proper personnel to ensure every guest experience is a pleasant. one. We look forward to seeing you and yours again!

Best Wishes,
All of us at Holiday Inn La Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Around 6:30 am the car wash will open and it's a loud consistent sound of a vacuum. Unfortunately I left my ear plugs at home, so it was very loud. (Tip to hotel - rooms close to the car wash have ear plugs in those rooms).

Unfortunately, my room was also not clean when I arrived. There was used gum in a wrapper on the bathroom counter. The hotel was sold out so there wasn't another room to be relocated to.

Room tip: ask for a room away from the car wash
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank warriorroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Warriorroad,

We would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and valuable in the continued growth of our property. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the room not being ready when you arrived. Our entire staff is dedicated to giving every guest the best experience and we are truly sorry for falling short on your stay. The proper personnel have been spoken with to ensure these kinds of issues do not happen again. We hope that you can give us another chance to prove to you just how amazing your experience with Holiday Inn La Mesa can be. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any other questions, comments, or concerns.

Best Wishes,
Holiday Inn La Mesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews