We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just got back from a four night stay. The room was extremely comfortable with a small fridge. The only down side on the room is that all rooms in hotel do not have baths. The bathroom is nice with a large shower, but with two small young children this was a problem. Luckily we stayed down the street from family and they took baths there. But I probably would book somewhere else if staying with kids. Otherwise a very comfortable stay. Right off the 8 freeway and 10-15 minutes away from all the activities like zoo and seaworld. Right across the street there is McDonalds, Pick up sticks, chipotle, and Carls Jr. The Front desk staff was extremely friendly and check in and out was super fast. Free parking. The onsite restaurant was good and kids eat free which was a great deal. My girls loved the pancakes with powder sugar and slice of bacon. I really enjoyed the California Omelet. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Kids eat free!! A good deal. My husband paid for two of us $20 and our 2 kids ate free. Saved money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ccs124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you fr your wonderful review. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked 2 nights through Hotwire in July 2014. The first night was horrible! The front desk put us in room adjacent to an ice machine, which people were using throughout the night. When I couldn't stand it anymore, I went down to the front desk at 6am to complain. The front desk agent was very surprised, because the ice machine "gets unplugged overnight." I informed him that this was NOT the case on this night. Kudos to that front desk agent; he went above and beyond to switch our room to what turned out to be a great room on the 2nd night. It's due to this front desk agent that I am rating this hotel 3 out of 5 instead of 1 out of 5.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LePlumpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the noisy ice machine. We do turn off the ice machines at 10pm daily and turn them back on at 8am. Please reach out to me personally to let me know when you stayed so I can talk to the appropriate staff to find out why it was not unplugged that night.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
agmhilm@t4shotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is across Costco and other restaurants. Very convenient area to go downtown.
Hotel is clean. It has free Wi-fi and free parking.
The area is very safe. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Rate is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Not too impressed with this location. The outdoor pool is a tiny section of parking lot that holds a maximum of 15 swimmers. There were not rollaway beds available when we asked for our 2 adult 3 child group- they offered linens do one could sleep on the floor. I wouldn't sleep on the cleanest hotel floor - and this wasn't the cleanest. Overall I would not choose this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cortney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that we were not able to meet your needs during your stay. While we may not have rollaway beds available, we do have larger rooms to accommodate larger parties which also come with a pull out couch. Please contact me directly to discuss the cleanliness issues that you faced during your stay so I can ensure we improve ourselves in this area.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
agmhilm@t4shotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I arrived on the the 2nd of July and have gotten amazing customer service from every employee especially Andre he's went above and beyond to ensure our stay has been nothing less than absolutely amazing upon meeting him he was so welcoming and warm made myself and family feel comfortable as if we were all family being welcomed home he helped with direction to tourist attractions and restaurants this has been one of the cleanest hotels I’ve stayed at and will definitely be returning thanks again for everything Andre Rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMoore908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! I am so happy to see that our staff, especially Andre, were able to go above and beyond for you.

I hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited my daughter and her family for the weekend. This location was perfect. It was a mile from their new home and right off I 8. Great restaurants and bars nearby. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The employees were always ready with an offer to help or a thank you for staying.

It was the best Holiday Inn experience my wife and I have ever had. We are going back several more times this year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eisaacsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! I am so glad to see that you were able to have an enjoyable stay.

See you on your next trip to San Diego (and hopefully we can get that 5th star from you on the next trip!)

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were awed by the spacious guest room we had for our family of five. We had two double or queen beds and a roll away bed. It was very clean, modern and most of all comfortable. Close to nearby places to eat and nice shopping malls. Not too far from Sea World and San Diego Zoo. Will return. Family was very pleased!

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to exit areas for accessible parking. Parking stalls are tight but available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego!

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Address: 8000 Parkway Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-2104 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing