We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Saved Our Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saved Our Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When I first walked into the lobby and saw Andre's beaming face, I knew a long, tiring day would end well. Two nights ago both our bathtubs backed up and it's promising to be a long ordeal while two plumbers try to find the source of the problem. I couldn't face another day without a shower. Luckily, Holiday Inn La Mesa is right up the street from us and is very reasonable. Andre got us into a clean, spacious room in no time. Saved from our disaster. Thanks, Andre!

Room Tip: Third floor at the end is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review! It makes me so happy to hear that our team, especially Andre, were able to go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

Hope your next visit with us will be for a stay-cation rather than plumbing emergency!

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    91
    43
    21
    11
See reviews for
84
38
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel with close proximity to good food. They definitely cater to parents of college students. We were greeted with sangria and fried cheese sticks. Only complaint is our room was noisy. AC was noisy and we were located right next to the ice machine. Room 232 beware.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are located perfectly for visiting parents for all the local universities.

I have sent a work order over to our head engineer to go replace the a/c unit in that room.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have visited this hotel on several occasions and found that it is the best hotel if you want to have a wonderful stay. Andre at the front desk was extremely helpful with every concern and need that presented itself. I recommend that everyone have the same pleasures as we did at least once in a life time. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Andre is a true pleasure to have working for us and is a great asset to our team. I am so glad to see that he, and the rest of the team, were able to accommodate you so well.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family stayed here for 4 nights while on vacation. We were looking for a hotel that didn't charge $30 a night for parking, like all the hotels do downtown. Here, the parking was free. The spaces, as others have mentioned, were on the small side, but I just parked at the end of a row where there was more space.

Staff was helpful and friendly.

The location was okay. There were several options for food. Most of our activies were located closer to downtown, but the drive really wasn't that bad. Maybe 15-20 minutes to downtown.

The room was updated and clean. Very spacious too. We tried room service three times. Unfortunately, they messed up our order all three times. Missed an item two times, and gave us the wrong item another time. They were nice and apologetic about it, but it did get a little frustrating by the third time.

The pool, as others mentioned, was small. But there was only a couple children in it when we went so it wasn't really an issue.

We had a baseball team in the room next to us, and they were making a lot of noise at night, to the point where the floors, walls, and bed were shaking. We complained, and the security dealt with it right away, and told them if they get another complaint, they'd be out. So that was appreciated.

We wouldn't hesitate in coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cot266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced while you were here but I am glad to hear that our team was able to fix them right away for you.

I have passed this review over to my F&B manager to make sure that we are improving in this area and make sure this does not happen again.

Hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
147 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel is a nice, clean building with large rooms. On-site bar / grill gives you an option of not going out and drink / food pretty good. Location is good for travelling around the area but it is not in San Diego. Quite a few shops, bars, restaurants etc in the area and would recommend BJs brewhouse and restaurant, a few blocks down the road. Hotel staff really helpful and friendly. There is an outdoor pool, but really small and tucked away in a far corner, not particularly alluring. Real negative was the service at breakfast - friendly but very slow, 45 minutes to get served and eat breakfast, not acceptable. Hotel did listen to compalint and they said that they had recently had someone leave, but even so. Food when it came was fine. On balance would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the slow service at breakfast. I have foward your comments to Robert, F&B Director, to make sure we are improving in this department.

I am glad to see that you did enjoy the rest of your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thanks to this hotels wonderful staff, I have found my new favorite hotel to stay when I visit San Diego. This staff went above and beyond to make my stay perfect; and even when they had their elevator break one day, they gave out free food and drink in the lobby the next day just to say sorry but also to celebrate that the elevator was working again! Cant wait until my next visit to San Diego so I can see the awesome staff again!

Room Tip: Close to SDSU, any room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKNJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review! I am so glad to hear that we were able to accomodate all of your needs while you were here with us.

See you next time!

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We live on the road, traveling for work, and mostly stay in Holiday Inns all over the world. When we arrived at this hotel, it seemed like just another hotel; indeed, the extremely slow breakfast service the first 3 mornings when we needed to go to work supported that view.
On the second day we were here, the main elevator near our room went out, and we had to hike the length of the hotel and back to get to the lobby/our room. That part was a bummer, but we were assured they were working on repairing it, and to be fair, at least there was another one we could use, hike or not.
The staff had such a great attitude about the elevator outage, posting funny signs to the rear elevator, putting out water and snacks to reward for the long walk, etc. The staff at the desk were beyond nice and helpful and they are planning a free Happy Hour for guests to celebrate the elevator 'healing'.
While the restaurant speed in the morning was previously abysmal, today it was very prompt, so the jury's still out on that part, but there is no faulting the hotel staff, nor the friendliness of the restaurant staff, either, they just need to remember that even though a lot of their guests are here for vacation, some of us still have timelines for work in the area.
In short, I would highly recommend this hotel, if only for the chance to interact with such friendly staff. The rooms are normal, American rooms, clean, large, accommodating and I never take a bath in a hotel anyway, so the walk-in shower was welcome.
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: It seems a quiet hotel except for maids starting at 8 am, if you are trying to sleep in, probably no...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I do apologize again for the issues with the elevator. Thank you for being so understanding during this time. I hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably,

Greg Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
Travelodge la Mesa CA
#5 of 10 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Address: 8000 Parkway Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-2104 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing