We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good nite sleep in San Diego” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good nite sleep in San Diego”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Room was clean, staff was very friendly. Good downtown location. Italian restaurant next door delivers for free! Parking lot is a bit small, would be a serious challenge if you have a trailer. Everything worked as expected, very quiet and pool/spa is family friendly. Would recommend this establishment to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    98
    44
    26
    14
See reviews for
93
38
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a week here. Had not one problem. The room was very clean, no noise problem. a/c worked very well. The pool and hot tub was good. The stuff was very helpful. There a restaurnt that is at the hotel was good food. Great for breakfast. they had a bar so if you wanted to relax and not go far it was fine. It was very close to San diego and the price for the room was good. I travel alot. Easy to find right off the highway and the area it was in was good too. felt safe. I used the computer in the hotel and had no problems. We were on the 3rd floor the hotel seemed pretty full alot of cars and i saw alot of meetings. no noise problem. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel. We were greeted by very friendly personnel. Our room was clean, nice decor, comfortable beds. You have a choice of firm or soft pillows. Had breakfast at its Mesa restaurant. Not bad at all - $20 for 2 adults and a kid. 7/11, Mexican eatery, McDonalds – everything is just around the corner. Close to San Diego Zoo

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We love the holiday inn chain of hotels and we usually stay at the holiday inn express if possible. We made a last minute decision to go to San Diego for the Chargers home opener and the Express was booked so we decided on the inn. Checked in... It was great. Hotel and room was clean. Turned on the air...and on my goodness a jet was landing in the room all night. Couldn't open the windows but 2 inches or so. When you turned off the AC there was still a loud roar from the roof. Worst night sleep ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4u2reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear 4u2reed,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted to know that you had a good experience at check in. I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by the noise from the air conditioning system. We will address this and I thank you for bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Mesa hotels

Northern VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was in San Diego on business. Due to Comic-Con taking place that week, there were no hotels available down town. Holiday Inn La Mesa was the only place I found a room.
Photoshop is a wonderful thing. Do not let the image on the website fool you.The parking area in front of the hotel is no where near as big as it appears. During the week of my stay, there were numerous instances of people who for whatever reason cannot back their van/SUV into a parking space and so end up taking two spaces with their semi-diagonal parking because there was not enough room to swing into the space properly.
Upon check-in the young woman who assisted me was very pleasant and efficient.
I cannot say the same for the room.
Although clean, it was dated and badly in need of renovation. The carpet is in need of replacement and the closet door was hanging off its tracks. I ended up fixing the door myself concerned it would fall on me if I left it as is. I do not understand how housekeeping did not notice this.
The desk and table lamps all have electrical outlets on them none of which worked. The desk chair would not maintain its height. I adjusted up as I prefer to sit higher when working on my laptop. As I was sitting the chair would continue to jerk down.
The internet service was adequate at best.
Services need to be improved. I needed to send out some clothing for cleaning. I got the bag in the closet for that purpose but there was no laundry form with it. I called down to the front desk and asked about getting a laundry form. The person who answered did not have the slightest idea what I was talking about even after I explained what it was. I was put on hold (I guess they went to check with the manager) and when they came back instructed me to just put a note in the bag with the instructions.
The next evening when I got back from work I expected to find a message indicating my clothes were ready. I had to call the front desk in order to find out that my clothes were ready.
The one redeeming quality was the restaurant across the parking lot. The food there was very good and very reasonably priced.
I really do not understand the reviewers who gave this hotel four and five stars as it was most definitely did not rate it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Naamor,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the front desk staff.

However, We’re sorry about the dated room, carpet and the closet door. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This HI worked perfectly for our purpose in La Mesa. We had a nice corner room on the 3rd floor.. We wanted to use the pool ... But it was so hot outside decided to use the room AC instead:-) Bed comfortable, good LG TV, good in room coffee.. Shower was Ok.. No tub... Fixtures a bit loose. Efficient, but not overly friendly service in lobby. The on site restaurant , The Mesa, offered great breakfast selection with a $10 per person credit .. Very nice and good service..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rboydinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement8000, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We will share them with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel was clean and updated. Service was very good, and the one time we ate breakfast at the restaurant, it was very good. The only complaint I have, is that the hotel's wireless connection didn't reach our room. We were fairly far from the front desk, where the hotel's only router is located. When we mentioned this problem to the hotel staff, they had very little to say. Yes, it was inconvenient to not have a wireless connection, expecially when we were expecting one. The treadmills in the workout room need to be updated as well. Otherwise, the location was very convenient for us and it was a good value.

Room Tip: Close to the front desk to ensure you have a wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladykrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement8000, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like your stay with us went well. We're sorry you didn't have an Internet connection in your guest room. This is not a problem we typically have. It sounds like our front desk could have handled this better than they did. We will address this internally. Our fitness equipment is only a few years old. We'll take a closer look at it to make sure everything is in working order. We hope you're able to come back and visit us again in the future. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Address: 8000 Parkway Dr., La Mesa, CA 91942 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing