We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Walk From Trolley, Musty Smell, Cover Off A/C & Heating, Small Sink If Using For Ice Chest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Long Walk From Trolley, Musty Smell, Cover Off A/C & Heating, Small Sink If Using For Ice Chest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've been traveling for about a month, now. I've been staying in Motel 6's because most of them have been recently renovated & because they are the cheapest national motel chain. You can find a Motel 6 anywhere. So, the first Motel 6 I st as yed in was on the Las Vegas strip. My room was recently renovated. I asked for a recently renovated room. I had a flat screen tv & the bedding that comes with the recently renovated rooms, which is orange & beige. I had a stand up shower in the Motel 6 on the Lad Vegas strip. That mafe it hard to shave my legs standing up. So, the next Motel 6 I stayed at was in downtown San Diego. I asked for a recently renovated room. Again, it was nice. I had a bathtub & shower this time. Plus, I had a flat screen tv, again. I stayed in another Motel 6 near La Jolla. They call it Motel 6 North on my phone. It's on Clairemont Mesa Blvd. I didn't ask for a recently renovated room & didn't get one. There was carpet on the floors instead of the renovated wood. I don't think it's real wood. There was also no flat screen tv. Anyhow, this room wasn't recently renovated, but I was very pleased! I even got a room next to the ice machine. I was keeping bottled water in my sink & filling my sink with ice to keep it cold. So, being next to the ice machine was a plus. I did ask for a room downstairs, because of my luggage. It's heavy! However, the room I'm sta ying at in La Mesa, the room I should be reviewing, is NOT as nice as the others. The room had a musty smell... You get used to it & don't smell it anymore, though. The vent cover is off the A/C & Heating. There is also no flat screen. The sink in the bathroom is smaller than other Motel 6's. That's a problem because I'm using my sink as a make-shift ice chest. This Motel 6 is almost a mile from the trolley. I had to walk carrying very heavy luggage. I had a heavy bookbag on my shoulders. Call a cab if you carry luggage on your shoulders. This is unhealthy to walk with so much weight on you. I enjoy walking, but not with a heavy bookbag on my shoulders. It's so inconvienient to walk from the trolley to here, unless you have very little or no luggage at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmogurl069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
5
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
None of your business
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at this Motel 6 while I was down south for vacation. I had La Mesa PD show up at my hotel room after midnight on the last night of my stay and place me under arrest, saying that they had a felony warrant for my arrest. I was not aware of this and if I had been, it would have been taken care of long ago. I went to jail ONCE in my life and it's been at least 5 years, but it's still haunting me... And out of the blue! I will never stay at this Motel 6 again.

Room Tip: Compliance with Law We may disclose Guest Information to law enforcement agencies, or may be requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosewood K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Mesa hotels

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We travel with our dog, so usually choose Motel 6 when traveling. But this praticular establishment left lots to be desired. Rooms smelled. Exterior looked rundown. Staff agreeable to refunding my charges. Worst Motel 6 I've experienced. I recommend Corporate pay a visit and bring it up to Motel 6 standards.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

We just needed a hotel for one night and I have to say I wasn't happy about the idea of a Motel 6. I have to say though,the hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the service was absolutely outstanding. I cant say enough about all the staff there. Gave me a whole new impression of the Motel 6 chain.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ErinB_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

My mom and I were staying in San Diego for one night so I booked this hotel. It was very basic, 2 queen beds, TV, soap, towels, etc. The room was clean and neat. The staff was nice. Location is not bad either, about 5 minutes to San Diego State University area, 15-20 to beaches. If you need a cheap and decent place to stay in SD and don't need a lot of amenities, I recommend this hotel. Good location, comfortable and clean rooms.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILMF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
0.7 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa

Property: Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa
Address: 7621 Alvarado Road, La Mesa, CA 92041
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Motel-6 and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
Motel 6 La Mesa
Motel Six La Mesa
La Mesa Motel Six
La Mesa Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing