We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfy and Quiet”
Review of Motel 6 La Mesa CA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 La Mesa CA
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Big Stone City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfy and Quiet”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

When I stayed here last it was for vacation so it was only for a couple of days. This time I am considering moving to San Diego for work so I needed to stay for 3 weeks and look for a place to live. The people working here are more than nice, they even switched my bags from 1 room to another when my first reservation was up but I decided to stay another week.

The second room was better than the first, bigger room with more space a little larger tv and the best wifi signal that I had since I left my house.

SuperStart Continental breakfast is good since it comes with the room, had a coffee a muffin and toast with a banana. Thats good enough for me, better than spending another 5 or so dollars on McDonalds.

Room Tip: Again, NEVER eat at the mexican taco spot down the street called Oscar's!!! I should have learne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    112
    38
    23
    13
See reviews for
124
77
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This Super 8 was GREAT ! The man who checked us in was Great he even printed out some driving directions for us! They gave a group of Virtual Enterprise students early breakfast, so we could go to a competition! These were great customer service related thing to do for us to go back next year !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Tamra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It was renovated nicely and the staff were very helpful and freindly.the only fault I could find is the location. University Ave is not a quiet street and all the rooms face the street. We stayed for 3 days in mid March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We transferred to this hotel after having a bad experience at nearby hotel. The desk staff, cleaning staff, and the owner could not have been nicer. We sill definitely come back to this motel when again in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova/Folsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When I first walked in the room I was impressed for a Super 8. It seemed clean and newer carpet, loved the refridge and mircrowave in the room, always comes in handy. When I went to fold the comforters down (2 queen beds) I was rather grossed out by the visual dirtiness underneath my comforter, mind you there is only a sheet and comforter, no blanket, so I kept the comforter half way down all night from me. My son's beds comforter was clean. The coffee maker was only a 1 cup machine rather then a 4 cup, Im a coffee person so that disappointed me. The office person was nice, the breakfast was minimal, there was a dead mosquito on the counter by the food so I just decided to grab a banana and call it good. Would I stay again, NO. Was is quiet yes but the dirty comforter really bothered me. LIke my son said, Mom don't stay anywhere with a number in the name (cute!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
1.3 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 La Mesa CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 La Mesa CA

Property: Motel 6 La Mesa CA
Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942-5922 (Formerly Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa)
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 La Mesa CA 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms provide exceptional value in San Diego. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. We are non-smoking and pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 La Mesa CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing