We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommend this motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent one night here in August and were very pleased with the motel overall. Although a budget motel and priced accordingly, we found that it exceeded our expectations for that category of motel. In addition to being very well maintained and clean throughout, the motel "went the extra mile" by having a very quiet air conditioner, very quiet bathroom fan, comfortable bed and sparkling clean windows. And we really appreciated our nice, quiet room. Everything in the room worked well, such as the microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was fine (cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juice and packaged pastries) and the breakfast area was kept very clean (the small motel lobby is transformed into a perfectly fine eating area in the morning). Pride of ownership is evident here. We will stay here again for future visits to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sb93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    111
    38
    22
    13
See reviews for
124
74
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We found this to be a convenient affordable base from which to spend time visiting attractions in San Diego, only complaint is the parking lot can be a little hard to park in (concrete pillars and narrow parking spots) would book here again.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I apologize the parking situation made it difficult to find a spot. I appreciate the feedback and we will continue to look for creative ways to mitigate the parking issue when the location is busy. Please note, we have overflow parking across the street and on the street. Please ask any of our front desk agents and they will be more than happy to assist. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are absolutely desperate for a place in La Mesa, and can't find something else, or you ride a bike, then this will probably meet your needs, otherwise forget it. The place is not that clean, although I have seen worse. You have to run in circles to get wet in the shower, the bed (at least the one we had) had a chasm in the middle, the TV was not very good on most stations, and most of all:

The parking was horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We had to park on the street and chance our car getting hit by late night drunks (of which there were more than a few), or by getting broken into by people that kept loitering until 4 am (I stay up really late). Many of the folks with SUV's and trucks had to take up 2 parking spaces, and I know they really did not want to do that, but had no choice.

OK, so there were a few good things, that's why I didn't give this place 1 star. They let us checkout later (12 instead of 11), the breakfast was the usual Super 8, and there were no bedbugs.

Room Tip: I don't know if it makes a big difference, but if you like quiet don't choose a room that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srarakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Although parking is absolutely free, which is unusual in San Diego, it is not guaranteed. I apologize that the parking situation made your guest experience less than desirable, we do have overflow parking on the street and across the street, which the staff informed you of. We take matters of cleaniness very seriously and I invited you to contact me directly at super8sandiego@gmail.com to express your concerns so we may adjust our practices to address any discrepancies you found. When it comes to the bed, I would have to respectfully disagree, we have installed new Sealy Pillow-Top mattresses in all of our guestrooms and it is one of the many compliments we consistently receive at this location. Also, our televisions are LG LCD flat panel sets with over 70 local and cable channels, including HBO. I have been at this location for years and have parked on the street numerous times and never has my vehicle been hit by a drunk driver. I stay up late too during the night shift and frankly, there are some drunks walking home from bars, like in every urban environment, but not excessive amounts you suggest. Franky, I am pleased they are responsibly walking home instead of driving, so the chance of your car getting hit actually decreases. I am pleased you enjoyed the free late check out you receive and the fact that the room did not have any pests. It is our hope you will give us another chance to make a first impression. We appreciate your feedback, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good location, good beds, nice rooms, LOW cost and SUPER CLEAN. Hotel is family owned and they live on site. They personally take care of every detail for guest comfort and property maintenance.
It is like a visit to Grandma's. You are received with a warm welcome. When checking in you are advised to ask for anything you need. Only 10 miles from the airport, it is easily accessible to all of San Diego County sights.

Five of us stayed Six days. Had three rooms, all equally well tended. Vasanti even sent us all off with a Grandma hug and a sincere wish we would have safe journey.
While this is not a glitzy hotel, the accomodation, hospitality and cost is 5 Star and better. P.S. Stayed in Super 8s from NJ to CA and back. Would recommend every one. Will be our hotel of choice wherever we travel from now on.

Room Tip: Specify first or second floor if needed.Hotel is popular and fills up fast. Still quiet though. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your warm comments. Your feedback is truly appreciated and serves as motivation to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again very soon. We appreciate the warm hugs and hope you had a safe trip back home. Thank you again and we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one night. Previous reviews helped make our decision and they proved to be accurate. Our room was small but nicely decorated, well maintained and updated. Towels were small but we had two each which worked. Big screen TV, fridge and a good shower pressure. Breakfast was limited, cereal, fruit, yogurt and packaged pastries but good for the very reasonable price we paid for the night. We had a really good dinner at the Mystic Grill next door. The staff on the front desk at check in and out were very friendly and helpful. We were very satisfied with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My buddy and were in town for a 3 day golf tournament and we booked here based on reviews and price. We were not disappointed. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff beyond helpful. We stayed 3 nights and for sure I would stay again. It was a lot more comfortable than other rooms at 3 times the price. As was written by others, the parking is tight so if you are driving a huge truck you may want to look somewhere else, but we didn't have a problem.

This is not a 4 star luxury hotel, so don't expect that if you stay. It is a clean Super 8 at a great price though. They even had a little continental breakfast that we left too early to try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed four nights at this Super 8. It is a good, reasonably priced motel for this area. Our room was clean...bed was huge...and the refrigerator made it even better. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area. As was previously mentioned, the parking spaces are TIGHT! But everyone seemed to take care with parking and we had no major problems. My husband has allergies and the dust mites in the bedding caused him a great deal of problems. We finally took the heavy comforter off the bed and used just a sheet at night. That seemed to help a bit. The breakfast is really sparse....but take a short walk down the street to Shirley's for a GREAT breakfast. Shirley's special (2 eggs, 2 pancakes and 2 sausages or bacon) for $5.99. We went there every morning and then skipped lunch......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
1.3 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 10 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
5.4 mi away
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Property: Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa
Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942-5922
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing