We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME Stay! Will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 La Mesa CA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 La Mesa CA
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
“AWESOME Stay! Will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I decided to book my stay based solely on the reviews and the GREAT customer service of the hotel manager Mitesh. My stay exceeded all of my expectation. Mitesh was so helpful and kind. He went above and beyond to make my stay exceptional. I asked if he knew of any farmers markets. He did and printed me a list of them. It was great! It is easy access to the freeway, minutes to everything and completely safe. I highly recommend this hotel and will be back. Many thanks, Mitesh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
It was truely a pleasure meeting you and discussing our shared passion for farmers markets and locally sourced produce. Your kind words serve as motivation for myself and the entire staff to continue to exceed the expecations of all our guests. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego, as our guava tree should have some fruit ready to sample! Once again, we appreciate your gracious words and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    112
    38
    22
    13
See reviews for
124
75
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first trip to San Diego and was nervous about getting stuck in a yucky hotel that tricks you with nice pictures online. This was NOT the case at all!! The rooms look exactly like the pictures the staff were all very nice and helpful. Manager printed directions to food places and his recomendations were on point. Place was clean and extremely quiet. We are already planning for next year and this will be our go to hotel. Thank you la mesa super 8 : )

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njaj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
You are too kind! The fact that you are already booking your next stay with us is wonderful. Feedback like yours is truely inspiring and motivates our entire staff to exceed the expecations of every guest...every time. We hope you enjoyed all that San Diego has to offer and we can't wait to see you again next year. It was truely a pleasure meeting you!

Warm Regards,
Mitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is perfect for the price! The updates make it beautiful- i wish we stayed more than one night! The staff was more than friendly. If u are looking for something with great quality thats affordable be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockettfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We wish you would have stayed an extra night as well and enjoyed all that San Diego has to offer. We at the Super 8 La Mesa are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Greatfully,
Mitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay there ... staff was very helpful and very friendly. Great breakfast with fruits, yogurts , ceral and muffins ... Extremely clean !! We definetly will go back and recomend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliawang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your gracious review...it is our hope that we exceeded your expecations. The fact that you will recommend this hotel to other people it absolutely delightful. The staff and I are very greatful for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Mitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

we enjoyed the stay at super 8 La Mesa with our family ,rooms are renovated with granite counters & new lcd tv ,wire less connection was good , owner operator was very gentle and polite and cooperative .We would recomend this hotel for calm pleasant family stay with children. Very good Restraunts & easy highway access coupled with very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjosefamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

What a great little place and top people looking after you.

We arrived early and were met by Mutesh, who was incredibly welcoming. Maps of the area, suggestions for places to visit and eat, along with snacks for the kids. Brilliant service.

The room was spacious, clean and well set out. Wi-fi was great and the breakfast was simple but effective.

Only minor downside was that you are 20 minutes from San Diego but in truth you are so close to the freeway that this is no issue at all.

Thanks for a great stay and would go back again when we come back to San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family, the children were a delight and it was our pleasure to help bring a smile to their face by providing a small snack. We appreciate the time you took to write the review. Feedback like yours serves as great motivation for our entire staff to continue exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. We truely hope to see you again during your next visit to the San Diego!

Warm Regards,
Mitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I like this hotel especially in terms of rate,convinent location and good staff. This hotel is very well maintained, clean and nice. Also nice part of the hotel was staff. Manager was very helpful even we lost and he directed us properly also he printed out all major attraction in San Diego. I will definately recommed.

Room Tip: Nice & clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonakShah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Motel 6 La Mesa CA, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
It was our pleasure to help with directions. We are extremely delighted that you loved your stay with us and it is extremely gratifying that you will recommend our location to friends and family. Thank you for your kind words, they will serve as inspiration to continue our efforts to serve the needs of our valued guests.

Thankfully,
Mitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
1.3 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 La Mesa CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 La Mesa CA

Property: Motel 6 La Mesa CA
Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942-5922 (Formerly Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa)
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 La Mesa CA 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms provide exceptional value in San Diego. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. We are non-smoking and pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 La Mesa CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing