We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Himalayan Cuisine

Himalayan Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 205 Restaurants in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Located in a strip mall, this restaurant is better than I expected. Once inside the door, the place is huge. However, they do have a smaller dining room by the front windows they use when the place isn't too crowded, so you don't feel lost in a big room.

I went for lunch, which is a terrific value. You get to choose two full entrees, and the meal comes with daal, naan, and rice. This is all for $7.95, and there is enough for two people - or leftovers to take home for dinner. I found it a little bland, but good.

An added attraction is the Indian market next door called Himalayan Bazaar. It's small, but it has foodstuffs you don't find in your average American supermarket, plus a fill selection of Bollywood movies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank friskycelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The minute you walk in the door you know good things are going to happen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a fantastic restuarant. So popular it can get crowded, it's that good. Don't fret over the menu, it is all good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The $7.95 lunch specials were delicious and the leftovers were enough for dinner as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Vindaloo can be spiced to your desire and the chicken tika is creamy and slightly sweet. The naan that comes with the meal has good texture but is pretty bland. The chicken kebab looked great but had moderate spiceyness. The negatives were being given a table that had the previous guests stains on the tablecloth and they brought out 1/2 of our table's food several minutes after some of us had been served. I will go back and try again in the future because the food was good, and hope for a better experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“An Exotic Gem in La Mesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sometimes a great dining experience can be had in your own backyard and you don't even know about it. That was the case when I recently went from my Mt Helix home to get my car smoged on El Cajon Blvd in La Mesa. As I drove by the little shopping center off Baltimore Drive I spotted a sign that read "Himalayan Cuisine: Indian and Nepalese Food".

It was lunch time so I decided it would be worth at least a look. Like so many dining gems in San Diego, it was tucked away on the far corner of the center. The lunch special on the sandwich board in the front of the restaurant was intriguing, and there were several happy customers enjoying their meal so I decided to give it a go. And I'm glad I did.

The décor is simple but pleasant with photos of the Himalayas and Nepalese scenes on the walls. The tables sported red clothes and the waiter wore traditional Nepalese garb which added to the exotic experience. The small dining room was more than half full when I entered and just about full when I finished my meal, and from the conversations I could pick up, the other guests were mostly regulars.

The lunch special is a true bargain at $6.95 which includes TWO entrees and comes with daal, a delicious white lentil soup with Himalayan spices and herbs and naan, the traditional flat bread baked in the tandoor oven.

For the lunch special you had a choice of two of the six standard entrée selections and two chef's specials that change daily. I selected the Chicken Chilli, pan fried marinated chicken strips with bell peppers, red pepper, and onion cooked in a Himalayan sauce and Tikka Masala, boneless chicken breast cubes cooked in a special sauce. Both were tasty and beautifully seasoned.

The portions were large considering they are serving you a bowl of soup as well. I ended up eating about half and had them box it up to take home.

I plan to make Himalayan Cuisine a regular dining stop and I look forward to trying the other wonderfully sounding dishes on the menu. This is truly a little gem of a restaurant in La Mesa and well worth the trip from anywhere in the county.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was in the San Diego area for 10 days around Thanksgiving and ate here twice for lunch. Nice variety, wonderful flavors, and reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank empresski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing