We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place near home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalayan Cuisine

Himalayan Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 204 Restaurants in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place near home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have recently moved to CA from Italy and keep seeking for good places were to eat. Well, this is an excellent place to have lunch or dinner. They have a vast menu with all traditional dishes of Himalayan and Hindu cuisines. Any dish you take will be wonderful and you can choose how spicy you want your meal (don´t forget to try the fresh bread NAAN). I highly recommend this place to anyone who loves good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank armarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Himalayan cuisine is a genuine gem. I am embarrassed to say that on my phone they were on my favourites list ahead of my kids......but i have since fixed that.

If you want something original, genuine and excellent then Himalayan is the place to go. We normally get a take away (enough for 4 people - the Chicken biryani is excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yragnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Dont let the location fool you. You have to work a little to find this place because its not just in a strip mall, it's on the side of the strip mall. You travel to the end of El Cajon Blvd almost to highway 8 and there it is. Its has a very authentic looking decor and the wait staff is very attentive, although when they get a little busy service can be extremely slow. They start you off with a small complimentary bowl of tasy lentil soup and I highly recommend the garlic naan(is there such a thing as too much garllic?) Although I'm not a veggie, the menu has a good selection for our veggie and vegan friends. The wife had the alu bhanta and loved it. I had something they call himalayan biryani that you could call the house biryani with both meat and seafood in it....wonderfull They have the usual selection of tandoor and other indian/napales/himalayan dishes and everything we have tried was good. A word of warning...they ask you how hot you want it on a scale of 1 to 10. Unless you have a lot of experience with these dishes dont go past a 3.....trust me!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved the food and the decor. The real deal, Himalayan food with different spices then we have had at Indian Restaurants (which we also enjoy). This place bills itself as Himalayan, Nepalese and Indian. Spacious dining. Go once and you'll want to go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chickclickfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The people alone we worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we walked in there was a medium sized gathering in a dark and intimate setting. There ere people singing, dancing on chairs and having the best time I have seen in a very long time. My family and staff have returned a number of times and have had quiet meals that were spiced up by the large screen tv displaying scenes from the Himalayans. The staff is friendly, fast and always happy to see you. A must for those with a Patel for spices and food from that corner of the globe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mashat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing