We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay away” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Inn La Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn La Mesa
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
San diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff was awful. Right before checkout our cat got out. We were traveling with 2 cats and I called and asked the front desk to check out late while we looked for our cat. It was 95 degrees and I could not leave the other cat in the car while I looked for the first cat. They said I need to check out and treated me very rudely. Also I did not feel safe staying here. The hotel is in a good area however there was a lot of drug activity in the open, and loud party next door, police were called for a fight down the hall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbperrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, June 27, 2015
Dear Guest
Let me start by thanking you for having taken the time to give us your comments regarding your stay at our property last year.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. For your information we have recently concluded an upgrade in all aspects, furniture has been replaced mattresses as well, lighting indoors and outdoors have been improve, flat TV's have been set up, almost around the clock security service, we still have some outdoor painting to do, the property is already looking good. It is our hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We are committed to earning you satisfaction. If we can be of assistance do not hesitate to contact us at: 619 698 9444.
Sincerely,,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    7
    12
    28
See reviews for
20
9
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I travel for business at least every other week and this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! There is was no Iron, ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock, coffeemaker, luggage rack or even a bible in the room. Instead of the complementary shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc., there were two trial packets of nasal strips on the bathroom sink and one was opened and used. The last thing they need to worry about is someone snoring too loudly there because the noise from the freeway will drown it out! I thought that the chewing gum hanging from the light fixture next to the bed was a nice touch and went very well with the burn holes all over the comforter. There was no cover on the air conditioner, the door was warped and you could see feet passing by outside the room, and the carpet was filthy! The free wifi didn't work at all. Two of the guests were arrested down the hall and a window was shot out two doors down. I only gave this review one star because it was as low as it allowed. I was never so happy to get out of a hotel room in my life! My advice...don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, June 24, 2015
Dear Guest:
Let me start by thanking you for having taken the time to give us your comments regarding your stay at our property last year.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. For your information we have recently concluded an upgrade in all aspects, furniture, lighting indoors and outdoors, flat tv sets, almost around the clock security, wre still have some outdoor painting the property is looking good. It is our hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If we can be of assistant to you in the near future do not hesitate to contact us at: 619 698 9444.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Mesa hotels

FORT MOHAVE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had to make an emergency trip to San Diego and our usual places were all booked. This was close to my family so we bit the bullet and stayed 3 nights. The 1st room had an a/c that wasn't working (which we discovered after being gone several hours) so we went to the desk. Clerk immediately upgraded us to a first floor room with a coffee maker and small fridge which we didn't have in the other room. Bed was fairly new and comfortable. Some of the clientele was "iffy" but we were never bothered by anyone. Room attendant was very professional and did a great job cleaning. Desk staff worked hard to extend our stay an extra night during the start of a busy weekend. I think the staff is trying to improve the reputation of the hotel and I hope they succeed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Sirs:
Let me start by thanking you for having taken the time to give your comments regarding your stay at our property.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Again I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
Sincerely,
Connie Flores
Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for one night and it was horrible! The lady at the front desk was not friendly and seemed miserable. The room I was in was very smelly the carpet was very visibly dirty. I woke up early in the morning to bite marks all over my arm. Do not stay here pay extra to stay somewhere nice! Oh and the hotel is located right off the high and difficult to find. This place should be shut down.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neveragainhere87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to give us your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope you will give another opportunity to serve you.
If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us at: 619 698 9444.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here when we lost our home to a fire. Connie, Lucy, Carol and David were all amazing. They were friendly and patient with us during our stay. The rooms were a great value. Clean and tidy. It was quiet and ultimately a very nice stay. Breakfast was fresh bakery danishes and coffee in the AM. I was very happy with my time here. Would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable comfy hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kclovesken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for having taken the time out of your busy schedule to complete our
Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Staff and Management are delighted to learn that our sincere efforts to make your stay a pleasant and comfortable one fulfilled your expectations , we thank you very much for giving us
such encouraging marks your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that this information is used to improve our daily performance. Thank you for having come back to stay with us again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 619 698 9444.

Again, thank you for your comments and we wish you and your family Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Connie Flores
General Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
cflores@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was clean in appearance. Parking was difficult and very close quarters. My wife and I were on the 3rd floor the elevators went out. I am handicapped on a knee walker. Placed in a Handicap room 2/3 the size of the 3rd floor room. TV channels poor. Wi fi I was told was not working well and spotty. Daily especially in the early evening and about 9 pm the police were in the parking lot, searching cars, suspects in cuffs. Entrances and exits blocked. Being ex-security, I felt insecure and vulnerable. Attitude of the office staff was pleasant on nights, but in the day time the women were curt, short in speech and had an attitude. Washers did not work well (cleaned poorly), the dryers did not dry well, requiring two rounds of change and a lot of patience. Breakfast was pastries only with coffee. All sugar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasRN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs:
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to submit a Guest Survey review regarding your recent stay at our property. Also please accept my sincere apologies for the long delay before e-mailing you back.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfactory.

Please know we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. For your information we have started on expanding our WIFI system and have the company in charge of the laundry equipment upgrade the washers and dryers in order to provide better service to our guests, earlier this month the elevator was down for less than an hour undergoing annual inspection.

Heritage Inn La Mesa closely cooperates with LMPD looking after our guests safety and welfare gladly welcoming their random check ups, during your stay LMPD received a report of a car apparently involved in a kidnap was parked in the parking lot of the motel police displayed a thorough search all the commotion resulted in a false alarm.

Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope that you will give us another
opportunity to serve you.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us at 619 698 9444.

Sincerely,
Connie Flores
General Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Carpets were old. Elevator inspection is expired. Beds were uncomfortable. We had to unplug lamps inorder to plug in any electronics. Dont stay here if you plan on spending any time awake in the hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmklockow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we value the feedback of all of our guests and are committed to constantly improving our service and providing our guests with the best experience possible.

We are aware of the expired elevator inspection. However, it has been inspected and we are only waiting on the new license to come in.

I hope you will consider us for your travel needs in the future, and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
0.7 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#222 of 278 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn La Mesa

Property: Heritage Inn La Mesa
Address: 7851 Fletcher Pkwy, La Mesa, CA 91942
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Inn La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing