We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #18 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'm not a pub person so I'm not a fan of these places. Went for a happy hour on my friend's suggestion. It was ok, menu was decent, service was a little slow. They seem under staffed. Parking down here sucks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    161
    41
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really a three and a half star place: excellent choice of beer some of it brewed on-site. However, the food was rather disappointing. My companion's cioppino contained a lot of very good quality fish but the flavour had been ruined by the addition of excessive amounts of chilli. Beer-brining did nothing for the flavour of my pork chops. Service and value-for-money were very good and there was a lively atmosphere provided by the mostly young crowd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband, my father and myself went to this restaurant for dinner on November 29. It was very good food and was reasonably priced. The only issue was the service was kind of slow, our waiter seemed to be more preoccupied with other things than actually serving us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great ribs with wide selection of home-brewed beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great for carnivores and fabulous racks of ribs. Far too much food for UK visitors, but really tasty and tender. Great selection of beers from Strauss' brewery. Ambiance and seating superior to the downtown San Diego Strauss, service slightly slower but friendly and efficient. Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent beer and sandwiches, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Modern, hip atmosphere, nice outside patio. Great beers served by a very knowledgeable staff.My mesquite grilled chicken breast sandwich with beer cured bacon was out of this world. My wife sandwich was different and involved Portobello mushrooms. She loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing