We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beers, great food, great place”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #18 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great beers, great food, great place”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beside a GREAT choice of home brewed beers, they do really food, I like their fish'n'chips, their ahi Tuna Salads, and signature burgers. The Outdoor patio is awesome to enjoy beers and food !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Streetadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    166
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Generally good selections, but nothing really sticking it to the craft for me yet!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I like what they have to offer, but nothing amazing yet, or really getting me to talk it up too much. Service is always great, and it's always a nice setting, so don't expect to be disappointed, but not blown away either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vibrant place; excellent value for money”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in La Jolla for three nights and went to this place twice. Good meat, delicious sallads and - with kids - excellent desserts. Very attentive service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food,Service & Beer!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always try to find a local brewery when we travel since my husband makes his own home brew. We found this great place had awesome brews but fantastic food and service too! Definitely try this place when in the downtown La Jolla area. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardave413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place is a little pricey, but the food was fabulous. We enjoyed the selection of hand crafted beers. I'm vegetarian and while there were not many options for me, I loved the black bean burger. My family had actual burgers and raved. We sat outside. Lovely, fun, great service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing