We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot food, cold beer”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #19 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Hot food, cold beer”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is location in Sorrento Mesa, but they just finished a re-do of an old Chili's site in 4S Ranch. The patio is a mob scene and the waits can be long, but it seems to be settling down. The food is spicy, but the beers are cold. All in all, a good choice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    163
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

rude and inattentive waitstaff. after dinner we spoke with the manager about our dissatisfaction. instead of apologizing, he proceeded to tell us that we were in the wrong that we "should have" just asked for a different waiter, switched tables, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Poor service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

During a company christmas party the amount of apetizers placed out were far too small a portion to the number of guests. I needed to special order my burger due to food sensitivities and it seemed like a real burden to the staff to make their food as I wanted it. It was also inconvenient to pick up a boxed lunch for an employee who could not attend. The waitress and staff seemed very rude....I felt like I was in France

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller01012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Upscale Brewhouse”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The varied menu has something for everyone and the food quality was excellent. Lots of the selections are enhanced with the home brewed beers ( BBQ Pork and Beef Ribs ) Fun Free beer tasters added to the experience. Ever had a fruitcake flavoured Beer??
Excellent service and value. A definite must to try in La Jolla.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimmer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food Is Fantastic”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My huband had their Christmas party here. It is a great place for company/large group parties, because they have a separate room. They printed up a lunch menu just for us, which included salad (great dressing with beer as the mystery ingredient!), main course (salmon, chicken, beef, mac-n-cheese, and vegie pasta) all of which were delicious, and dessert. Ice tea and coffee were included. I highly recommend this location for your next event. They were very accommodating to guests with gluten free diet.
I recommend the ginger salmon, but everyone was thrilled with their meal and the wait staff was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing