We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilling”

Torrey Pines Gliderport
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$597.00*
and up
Private Coastal Tour of San Diego
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Thrilling”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Watch these folks dive off the cliffs in their gliders, and then soar back and forth. You'll spend 2 or more hours captivated.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    318
    45
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can fly”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You can learn to fly or just sit and watch others fly along the ocean in this fantastic venue and it's free to just watch. Bring a picnic lunch or buy food at the funky cafe.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PlaneTruth18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Magical!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was there as an observer and watched the gliders take off and sore about on the currents. I was on the edge of the cliffs so my perspective was great as they dipped and dove overhead. Take some time to visit. It is well worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marvelme_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing experience soaring above the cliffs”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had an awesome time soaring above the beautiful cliffs of Torrey Pines overlooking La Jolla Shores and Black's Beach, TP State Reserve and TP Golf Course. We had some pelicans and red-tail hawks soaring close by! It's very peaceful up there as there is no engine and only the conversation between you and your pilot. A friend of mine is paraglider so he took me up in exchange for some video that I shot of him.

A couple of key points to make. This is VERY wind dependent so call ahead for conditions which can change throughout the day. This is not cheap $150-$200 for 20-25 minutes I think. I imagine your experience can be very dependent on the pilot that you get and your interaction. The only bathrooms up there are porta-potties so be aware of that. It is a dirt road where you park and can be a bit bumpy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great place to come and enjoy the view and watch the hang / para gliders launch from the cliffs. There is a little food area where sandwiches and the like can be bought. Just down the hill you'll find San Diego's one and only nude beach - Blacks Beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines Gliderport also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Gliderport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing