We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrill Ride”

Torrey Pines Gliderport
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$597.00*
and up
Private Coastal Tour of San Diego
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Thrill Ride”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I haven't had the chance to get a ride on one of their gliders but I know some who have and really gotten a thrill ride. You can also just visit and watch many flying at once.

Helpful?
Thank ldo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    316
    45
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to watch the adventitious”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

really nice place to watch the people jumping from the cliff :-)

The walk down to the beach is not for the fainthearted though, the cliffs are decaying fast and the path down is doing its best to give a means down, but is facing the same challenge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank englishsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Place -- Go!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Go see the glider port--especially if you are a photographer. It is amazing and beautiful. I'm told that going before sunset is ideal and it was for me. Aircraft (not even sure what they're called) all around--even a large, remote controlled glider (visible doing a loop in the top of one of my pictures). Children can plan in the gulches (not sure this is the right word) but with care and parental supervision--can be dangerous. Absolutely amazing place! Easy and free parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michigander94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so fun!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

great experience. went with my 12 year old daughter. we both loved it. so nice to glide peacefully and silently among the birds at the ocean's edge. very competent instructors and guides. would love to go again. kind of expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenatparks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thrilling...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife surprised me with a para-gliding day. I must say it was an awesome experience. The instructor mentioned it was one of the best weather days for para-gliding. It was super easy, no experience needed. They were very helpful and told you everything you needed to do. Other than signing and initialing about 50-60 times on a 20 page form, the process was rather easy. We only had to wait about 20 minutes before getting airborne. The ride lasted about 20 minutes as well. It was breath-taking. Such an amazing view of La Jolla from about 300 feet up. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an adrenaline rush and an overall beautiful day.

Helpful?
Thank Ryano724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines Gliderport also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Gliderport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing