We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful way to spend an afternoon”

Torrey Pines Gliderport
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have always enjoyed going and watching the gliders take off and land. You can spend a couple hours with kids here. It is quite mesmerizing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank movingeast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    306
    43
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth the stop even if you are not going paragliding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I lived in San Diego for 7 years and never went paragliding. But I did come here to watch gliders take off and fly along the cliffs of Torrey Pines. This is perhaps the tallest section of the cliffs in San Diego, and you have beautiful views of La Jolla Shores, Black's Beach and Torrey Pines State Beach from up here. It's also pretty fun to watch gliders taking off and landing.

If you are feeling adventurous, you can also take a tandem ride with one of the instructors without previous experience. It must be amazing to see the cliffs and the ocean from up there, so if you have the guts, this is a great place to go for a ride!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank fnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uplifting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We parked our car facing the beach and watched the beautifully colored gliders swoop and turn in front of us. Relaxing and a unique part of visiting La Jolla.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unassuming spot at the end of the road next to Salk Institute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

After taking the architectural tour of the Salk Institute, we walked down the road to the Gliderport for lunch. No one was gliding that day (until we were walking back to the car), but the view and lunch were great. The little cafe serves up soup and sandwiches and sells ice cream bars. Our sandwich was quite good! We ate at a large picnic table near the staging area, and others were out closer to the edge in the wind. The shop there sells all the gear needed to glide, as well as tee shirts and prints.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Even if you don't partake in the activity, just go there to watch the paragliders and hangliders. Yesterday we went to watch (my first time, my companion's third time) and ended up signing up to paraglide with ten minutes of arriving. It was one of the coolest experiences ever!! It was so incredible, and I can't wait to go again!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines Gliderport also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Gliderport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing