We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Afternoon Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Frizzante

Gelateria Frizzante
1025 Prospect St, Ste 130, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4102
858-454-5798
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Dessert in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Astoria, OR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice spot for an afternoon break or evening desert. We had 4 flavors and all were bursting with flavor. We are looking forward to returning soon. Pleasant staff and fair serving sizes and price.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorer-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for not being Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a nice afternoon break at this gel atresia. It was good. Fair sized servings for the price. They tried to capture the feel of Italy a little with pictures and using the metric system for serving sizes and using Italian to define the portions. Although in all of their signs the had litre mis-spelled at liter.....I guess they tried.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This gelateria is on the main street and I tried it after visiting the Haagen-Dazs franchise across the street.

It offers a choice of gelato and sorbets, I had the gelato which was absolutely superb and less expensive than the franchise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieB3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Smooth and tasty! Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by last night. Will be back again to try more flavors. The gelato was fresh, smooth, creamy, and had good rich flavor. I loved that they let me have 1/2 and 1/2 on the small size! Prices are comparable or less than what I've paid in Houston, Miami, and NY. $3.75 for small; inexpensive when compared to big chain ice cream shops like marble slab.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
183 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We may be spoiled by the Gelato FIasco in Brunswick, Maine, which has better selection and smoother gelato. But, this is pretty darn good. The service was excellent, the gelato just fine. We shared a large, which was $7 - not cheap, but a good dessert for two. They let us try three flavors, and we picked chocolate toffee (toffee was a little uninteresting and soggy), wild strawberry (good, but not very strawberry-y), and coconut (really really good). I definitely recommend it over other ice cream places nearby, but would love to see them go the last tiny step to really outstanding gelato. I'd also recommend better seating. The hard seats could be replaced with comfy soft chairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Frizzante also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria Frizzante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing