We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty at night.”
Review of Osteria Romantica

Osteria Romantica
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Romantica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,242 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty at night.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Feels like a real local restaurant as the staff seemed to know a lot of customers. The food was excellent, everyone in family really enjoyed. Very pretty outside at night. Traditional decor & menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFamily_from_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    83
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Food was excellent. We ate there twice and both times we did it oustside. Atmosphere is very relaxed, like in all La Jolla Shores. Nice place to come back!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Argmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun, family dining near The Shores”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Osteria Romantica is a charming little Italian restaurant loved by locals and owned and operated by two charming young Italian couples who treat everyone who enters as a member of the family! The Lasagna is great as are some of the seafood specials. Come with the parrents, the children, the cousins....everyone is welcome in this bustling, happy restaurant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ljtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
260 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“service lacked this time...but food still good”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have eaten here on many visits to la jolla..one of the things that made it special was the "family" atmosphere and staff attentiveness. this time the server seemed to have an attitude and it was not a pleasant one...he is not new but the owners seemed missing on this night...food was still good, but it marred the experience. and the two regular old men who visit seemed to not be in such a good mood, one of them arguing loudly with our waiter on the quality of his food...so, not the perfect night we usually have there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Have bar code label, will travel... out of restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I've had dinner here about 4 times counting this one. The food has been typical but tasty. My most recent and last excursion here was August 1, 2014. After eating approximately 1/4 of my entree i noticed a bar code label in my food. Yes, a bar code label. A big one too. I should have snapped a picture of it.
My tartness comes from the nonchalant way in which it was handled. I called the waiter over (by the way, that has always been a complaint of mine, arrogant wait staff) and he muttered something, apologized and took my plate away. He asked me if I wanted to order anything else, I declined.
My umbrage continued as I thought the manager or chef would come out and apologize or extend some sort of gesture but no, nothing.
Stick with Piatti's across the street.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlumofCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Romantica also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Osteria Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing