We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely overrated!”
Review of Osteria Romantica

Osteria Romantica
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Romantica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hugely overrated!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having made a reservation for Valentines, and given the reviews, we were expecting at lot more than the wham, bam, thank-you ma'am supper. It was busy, no doubt expected, but once the obligatory bottle of wine and the entrees were foisted upon us, the agenda turned into one of getting us out for the next serving. It was extremely busy & noisy, the food dishes (2 veal dishes & 2 pastas) were tasteless, the vegetables (heaps of carrots) were uncooked and the baked potatoes soaked in oil and soggy. The only saving grace was the $40 bottle of the wine and our company. Clearly, if you're La Jolla, you'd do much better at any family fast-food restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyskunk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    83
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location to go to for some really good Italian food. The restaurant is quaint & cosy, the food tastes like it is home made. After dinner it is a very short walk to a fabulous walk along La Jolla Shores. Makes for a great evening out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere with delicious cuisine”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were walking in the area getting ready for a kayak tour and happened upon this restaurant... We made a reservation for that night meeting a cousin and it was a loverly experience.. We dined.... There was a quality of Italy ... You can sit and enjoy the food wine and ambience... The homemade ravioli dishes were delicious as was the cream of carrot soup which was delicate.and seasoned just so! The chocolate mousse cake was light and out of this world!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindafish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just a warm atmosphere, good food, nice wine selection, happy vibe. It is the kind of place that makes one realize why people like living in "villages"

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were going to spend the day in La Jolla, visiting our daughter at UCSD. We researched TripAdvisor for the reviews and type of food.

We picked Osteria Romantica because of the TripAdvisor reviews and we were in the mood for Italian.

It is located on a quaint street with surf shops located nearby, and only a very short walk to the beach.

This restaurant reminds me of a small restaurant I have frequented a few times just outside Rome. (see my review of Ristorante De la Ville, in Fiumicino, Italy). The look, feel and quality of food is almost identical.

Osteria Romantica makes you feel like you are in Italy and the food is spectacular.
I started with the beet salad. It was fantastic! All four of us offered something different and we were all very pleased. The portions were very large and the staff very attentive.

I highly recommend this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCal_Worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Romantica also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Osteria Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing