We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Kindness”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chipotle Mexican Grill
Ranked #509 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Morgan Hill, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Surprising Kindness”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

For various reasons, I had never eaten in a Chipotle before. When the brown rice was not ready, the manager gave me a BOGO coupon for having to wait. When I told her it was my first visit to a Chipotle, she comped my whole meal! The food was super fresh and yummy and the workers seemed happy with good attitudes. They did not kick me out even though it was closing time and were happy to let me finish my food as they cleaned the kitchen.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank debo-ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I tried Chipotle for the 1st time last week & was impressed. It is VERY casual, the atmosphere is very non-descript but I like that you can 'custom' order what you want in a bowl or burrito. You can go as healthy or unhealthy as you want....lots of options

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good as always in any city”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fast, efficient service, the first guy who greeted us seemed like he loved his job more than anything! No matter what city I am in Chipotle never dissapoints!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quick service good portions.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Went here while driving though La Jolla. Loved the option to get a burrito bowl instead of a burrito. The chicken was great along with all of the toppings that you could put in. I went to this location about a year ago and got poor service. This time they were quick, knowledgeable, and friendly. They forgot to charge me for my drinks and when I mentioned it to them they thanked me for being so honest noting that most people would not have said anything.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“omg!!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

love the steak salad and a big fan of this restaurant you need to try it. if you a carbs eater you will love the cilantro lime rice ids the bomb.....

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank aracelihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chipotle Mexican Grill also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Chipotle Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing