We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2007

This hotel is a bargain, especially when compared with others in the San Diego area.

I am very picky when it comes to hotels. This Holiday Inn exceeded my expectations. It is not the motel you may remember from trips past!

The room was renovated recently, and everything from the bed linens to the bathroom toiletries has been upgraded. The marble bathroom had a walk-in shower with a great showerhead and plenty of towels. The bed was comfortable, and there were four pillows, two firm and two soft (embroidered on the pillowcases).

My room was on the small side, with just one queen bed, but there was an armoire, an arm chair, a nightstand and a mini fridge with a coffee maker in the room. The closet space was between the bedroom and bath and had an iron and ironing board. Instead of curtains, the windows had wooden shutters which were better at maintaining privacy and sound insulation.

Parking is free, which is a big plus. The included breakfast is also great. The lounge is across from the outdoor pool, and you have the option to eat inside or out by the pool. There is coffee, hot cinnamon rolls, toast, cereal, yogurt, juice---more than enough--and though it was busy, there were staff constantly re-stocking everything.

Visitors should note that this is not directly on the beach, nor right in downtown La Jolla. It is a 5-minute walk to Wind'NSea beach. Like every place in Southern California, you need a car to properly get around.

My only advice would be to avoid a first-floor room. Mine faced the parking area and I heard people coming/going. Rooms at the front face a four-lane street with traffic moving pretty fast.

The staff was very nice. I was allowed to check in late and leave an hour late with no problem.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LACat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 337 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2007

We stayed six nights in March and were very satisfied with the hotel. The room we had consisted of a bedroom, and a livingroom with a chair, sofa, and table that seated two. It also had a fridge and microwave. The liveing room had 4 windows that opened to allow the great breeze in. The bedroom also had four windows. The place had just been remodeled and was in great shape. The pool area was landscaped nicely and had plenty of tables with umbrellas. There is also a landscaped couryard with tables. The cost during the week was $125. You are one long block from the Wnd and sea beach for sunsets and a mile or so to La Jolla village. We would go back to this place in a minute.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank socntytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

What a surprise to find such a clean room with wonderful decorator touches for such a bargain price! Big glass shower, new tile throughout, new granite countertops. Our unit even had an efficiency kitchen with granite, microwave, small fridge. Pull out sofa and two double beds. Fan had palm frond blades, night table was cast concrete with sea glass embedded in it. Tons of decorator touches. The bathroom did need a couple of hooks to hang a towel or clothes. Free breakfast including choices of pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, oatmeal, toast, coffee, tea, etc. Quiet little pool and just a short walk to a fantastic beach. Great Su Casa restaurant across the street and pretty good Chinese restaurant next door...a little cafe is opening soon across from that too. Short ride to downtown and plenty of shopping, restaurants. Everyone was happy from teens to adults. Had personable, friendly staff from front desk to cleaning staff - FANTASTIC. Stayed in plenty of luxury hotels and didn't get the value or service that we did here. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank McMullen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

reasonable location for the rate in this expensive area. but a couple of problems.our recently remodelled room over the breakfast room(i think there are four rooms over the b/fast room)has a bedroom so small that they can't get a tv in the room. not much good if you want to watch something different from your other half or if you want to watch tv to fall asleep too. but more annoying is the fact that the tv in the breakfast room is switched on at 7am and then the guest start coming in for breakfast. the problem is that the floor is all tiled and the chairs and tables all make a horrendous scraping noise when moved.so no long lies for light sleepers!!.so beware these rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Holiday Inn Express La Jolla is a comfortable place and a very good value. I have not experienced any other lodging in La Jolla, but I would hazard a guess that it would be difficult or impossible to find other La Jolla lodging of this quality at this rate.

It is obvious some serious $$ and effort have been recently put into updating and upgrading the facilities at this hotel. My room was nicely outfitted, with a contemporary ambiance I would normally expect at a mid-range boutique hotel. Facilities were clean, attractive, and convenient. Front desk staff were always pleasant and helpful (even when my office sent me a 40-page fax!) The continental breakfast was more generous than the norm. I did not use the pool and spa, but they looked nice.

My beefs are very minor. My laptop could not detect their wireless internet, but that may have been "operator error" (i.e., me). I noticed a fair amount of street/foot traffic noise penetrating my room from the exterior, but did not notice any noise from occupied adjacent rooms. (Note: I am rather sensitive to noise levels.)

In summary, I would definitely stay here again. Nice job, HIE!

(Warning - People drive like fruitcakes in La Jolla.)

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

This is a great hotel, nice room, great bed, nice swimming pool area, nice staff and very quiet at night. I would stay there again if it was located somewhere else.

La Jolla is a quiet town with a pretty Ocean front. Strangely enough we rarely see the Ocean while in town. Many folks in this area are obvious multi-millionaires using cheap Mexican labors. There isn’t much to do there and the restaurants are overpriced.

Don’t stay there if you don’t have a car because La Jolla is far from everything. $35-40 taxi drive from downtown/uptown.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Buzzto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Very nice and clean hotel close to the Wind n'Surf beach. Rooms were recently remodeled. Very nice decor and comfortable beds. Our rooms was spacious, clean and directly located at the pool.

The poolside was very nice with a little garden around it and wooden chairs and tables to sit down and relax.

The staff was friendly and the location was good (by car about 5min to La Jolla center, 15min to Mission Bay and 20min to Downtown San Diego).

Good and large continental breakfast. Complimentary parking directly at the hotel.

Try to get a room at the pool or at least not facing the La Jolla Blvd in front of the hotel as this might be a little noisy.

I would definitely stay there again!


  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank madill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: $140 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing