We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Scarborough Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Little Hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This hotel really lived up to it's reputation here.

We arrived at 10am and were able to check in right away. The room was very clean and looked out to the pool. The beds were very comfortable with tons of pillows, crisp white sheets and those super soft duvets.

The microwave, fridge and coffee maker were spotless and all worked perfectly. The bathroom was large with a beautiful glass shower (no tub). There was both a table with chairs and ottoman and a desk and chair. There were several available outlets easily accesible (helpful when you are charging a cell phone / laptop / video game / camera). There was also a ceiling fan and our room had two large windows.

The breakfast was exceptional - one day was scrambled eggs and bacon and the next was omelets and sausage patties. There was also biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, bagels, yogurt, bananas, orange and apple juice, coffee and tea (both were actually good - not the watered down sludge you often get) and I am certain a few items I am missing.

The pool was cleaned and maintained well. The chair cushions are taken in each night and put back in the morning - they were clean and comfortable - probably about 6 inches thick so it was nice to lounge around reading or just drying off.

Service was attentive. We had a package delivered and they called the room and offered to deliver it. When we had issues with the T.V. (3 times - there was something wrong with the box) they sent someone right away (the third time they replaced the box).

The hotel is convenient to the beach and shores. And there is a nice Mexican restaurant right across the street.

I would recommend staying here whether you are looking to relax, do business or need a home base to travel to the different tourist attractions around San Diego. I would recommend having a car as there did not appear to be any public transportation in the area.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meatloafsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn Express in La Jolla. It was a very nice room, neat, clean, updated. Nice swimming pool, good breakfast. Conveniently located about 5 minutes from the La Jolla shopping area. Excellent way to enjoy the expensive La Jolla surroundings at a very fair price!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skipador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at this Hotel the Rooms are well laid out Clean and roomy.The Staff are very helpfull free internet access and good laundry facilities.Great location.
Poolside furniture recently upgraded.
Good family Hotel

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Claytondad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here about a year ago and had a great experience. This time we shopped around and again found this hotel to be the best option for our needs.

The location is on the south end of La Jolla, on a busy street (main drag) on the edge of business services. While it's a bit off the beaten path, it's still close enough to all the activities of the La Jolla Village area (shopping, beaches, dining, etc.) It's also very close to some nice neighborhood parks and fabulous beach views. There's a great new cafe across the street (WindanSea Cafe) and a decent Chinese restaurant (Mandarin Inn).

We stayed in a suite (room 219) that overlooked the pool from the bedroom area and interior courtyard from the sitting area. Oddly enough, this is the same room we were in last year. While noise carries from the pool, we didn't experience any of the street noise other reviewers have mentioned. Definitely worth asking for a quiet location.

The suite has a nice kitchenette area w/sink, refrigerator & microwave and new granite countertops. The sitting area and bedroom are quite small but adequate. The bedroom could have used a ceiling fan, but the A/C unit in the sitting area worked great for the whole place. The queen bed needs a new mattress - this is a new development since last year. The bathroom is shower only - a strange setup w/ a half-glass wall, no shower curtain and an oddly sloped shower floor. No way to avoid flooding the floor during showers. Shower water pressure was not great; probably due to older construction.

Parking is ample although spaces are narrow. There is also an overflow gravel lot adjacent to the hotel. We parked there without problem.

We like this Holiday Inn Express because it's not another cookie-
cutter hotel, but all the amenities of the chain are present. The renovations appear to be complete and the property seems to be well-
maintained. Maintenance workers were sanding and re-varnishing the wooden outdoor furniture while we were there.

We love the La Jolla area and for our needs, this property fits the bill. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Quiet room, good value
  • Disliked — Mattress is worn out
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZspaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, MD
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We just returned from a week's stay at the Holiday Inn Express in La Jolla with our two kids ages 11 and 9. We very much enjoyed our time at the hotel. Good value for the area. The room was very clean and we found the entire staff to be attentive and friendly. We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub after a day at the beach, as well as after dinner each evening (pool open til 10 pm). Pool towels were provided. Breakfast was convenient with enough variety to please everyone. We ate outside on the garden patio each morning. Good Mexican restaurant across street. Windansea beach is within walking distance. It's a beautiful beach with some great tidal pooling areas (best at low tide). Not the best swimming beach for our children. Tide a bit rough. We drove a bit to La Jolla Shores beach. Hotel a little off beaten track, but we didn't mind driving around and discovering area. So beautiful. There's so much to see and do. Would definitely stay at hotel again.

  • Liked — Price, friendly service, cleanliness of hotel and upkeep of grounds
  • Disliked — Would have appreciated a better fruit selection at breakfast buffet (bananas every day)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HickoryEldersburg_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My husband, 12 year daughter and I stayed 7 nights June 21-28, 2008. Had suite on 3rd floor of main building. Yes, there is an elevator. Suite was very roomy and clean. Marble counter tops in kitchen and bathroom. Lovely ceramic floor tiles in kitchen and bathroom. Window air conditioner unit in bedroom, two T.V.'s. There was only one bathroom (no tub) just shower. There is no fan in the bathroom so it got very foggy. Had to leave window open. It was difficult for the 3 of us to get ready in the morning. View from 3rd floor was amazing. You really can see the ocean. With the ocean (Wind n Sea Beach) so close we never did use the pool. Free breakfasts were great. They alternated between scrambled eggs/bacon and egg/ cheese omlets along with fresh fruit, pastry, etc. Husband's favorite was the free wireless internet in the room. Only real problem we had was the 2nd morning some of our make-up was missing from our bathroom. We want to believe that perhaps the maid accidentally got make-up wrapped up in towel and it got disposed of. Front desk clerk, Elizabeth, didn't handle it very good. She basically called me a liar because the maid said she never saw any make-up in the bathroom. If you plan on seeing alot of attractions we suggest getting the San Diego Go Card. We saved hundreds of dollars on admissions and merchandise. There is a great little shop called La Jolla Cove Gift Shop by La Jolla Cove. Prices were 1/2 that of other places. We'll be back. We loved San Diego and especially LaJolla.

  • Liked — Suite was big, clean, location was great, wonderful breakfast.
  • Disliked — One incident with Elizabeth, front desk clerk.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I just returned from a 6 day trip to La Jolla and had the pleasure of spending the nights at this Holiday Inn Express. The property is a little bit of a drive from the village of LaJolla but will worth the trade of value vs a few minutes of driving.
The room was clean and fresh. The pool area and hot tub were also clean and inviting.
Breakfast was good, fresh and coffee hot. You can enjoy it in the large, clean breakfast area or at tables just outside of the area.
The staff was very pleasant and ready to please. Amy, the night manager, always had a kind word and was anxious to answer questions of directions and places to eat.
This is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing