We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 days in early July (the busy season). Our travel plans got us in early and we tried to check-in at 12:00pm (check-in is 4pm). They tried to accomodate us, but due to the busy season no rooms were available. However, the desk clerk indicated if we went to lunch we could call after and see if something opened up. We tried again at 1:30pm and they were able to get us into one of our rooms early. The second room was available shortly thereafter. The Hotel itself is very small and compact. However the rooms were fairly spacious and well laid out. The shower was odd as there were no shower curtins or doors. If you were not careful the water got all over the floor. The rooms were clean for the most part, but could use some high dusting as the ceiling fan was pretty dirty. The complimentary breakfast had the usual pastries, yogurt, cereal, but also had a small assortment of hot items each day. The breakfast are was well kept and spotless. The pool are was in the center of the hotel courtyard and was surounded by the rooms. This setup caused sound to amplify and travel into the rooms. This is fine during the day, but I did not like being woken up at 10pm (the time the pool was supposed to be closed) by screaming children. I blame the parents more than the management. Managment did close the pool shortly thereafter. Our room keys operated sporadicaly and we were sometimes locked out of our room. All and all this is a nice little hotel...couple of small issues but overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an extra room key to avoid being locked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Jake,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s not always easy to accommodate early arrivals this time of year but we try hard. I am happy to hear that we were able to do so for you. I’ve shared your comments regarding the high dust with our housekeeping team and I apologize that we “under”looked this area.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
102
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our journey from Napa down the coast to San Diego. All of our accommodations were fabulous with the exception of The Holiday Inn. It was noisy, bed/pillows were uncomfortable, could not get an iron for 24 hours, and just not worth the exorbitant amount of money. The staff was super friendly and helpful when we encountered electrical problems in the room (aka blackout for an hour in the AM when a fuse blew). How do you blow a fuse at a major hotel and can't rectify it for an hour? We would never stay here or recommend to a friend. You think La Jolla would mean top notch...not so. Very disappointing and was told we would be refunded some $ or given points due to the awful experience. That never happened! However, the staff at the front desk were awesome!!! One positive thing...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Clallie,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy you enjoyed our awesome front desk staff. It seems that we have the friendly and helpful skills, but are failing to consistently follow through and ensure satisfaction and comfort. Please accept my apology for your disappointing experience.

Please contact me at lclark@pacificahost.com or 858.454.7101. I would enjoy the opportunity to learn more about your experience and to keep our promise.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Best location in La Jolla. Park your car, unpack, and you can walk pretty much anywhere - nothing much is more than a mile or so away, including PB to the south. Two blocks down from La Jolla Blvd is Windansea - which is a consistently great beach for surfers. I prefer to go down to PB and rent a bike for the duration, but most recently it was just my wife and myself, so we walked. Staff and accommodations are a good bargain. It is not a resort, but I'm not into resorts - at all.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk - they're there to serve and assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff and Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Jeff and Carol,

Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us on your recent visit. We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I are enjoying our stay here very much. It is an intimate setting close to the beach, with a comfortable courtyard pool area and nice rooms. A great location and the staff is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzmaster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Jazzmaster,

It was our pleasure. I am sorry I missed you two this morning. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review and recommendation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The property was average; motel style. The room smelt a little musty, and could have used replacement of the carpets.
Breakfast was nice as was the pool are. Close to the ocean.
The lady at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful; made up for the deficiencies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Alikarim,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. I am delighted that you found our desk staff friendly and very helpful and the breakfast and pool nice. We have almost completed replacing the carpet in all our guest rooms. We have 4 remaining and I am very sorry we did not complete the project prior to your arrival.

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us. We hope too see you on your next visit to La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I'll make this short. Close to an pretty but little-used beach. Good breakfast. Very adequate rooms. Ask for a room away from road since its quite noisy. Some have to park in adjacent alley - not safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammockSwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear HammockSwinger,

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review.

It is a little dark during the evening on Electric Avenue (the small street behind the hotel). However, we have ample extra parking available outside the lobby. I am sorry we did not make you aware of this availability.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Clean and near the beach. I was disappointed in the accommodations with a soggy carpet leading into the bathroom and "dingy" overall feel. Pool area is nice except a big sign on doors about people who have had diarrhea in the past 14 days are not to use the pool? Really? Won't stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smayberry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Smayberry,

I know! But, it reminds everyone one that they are using a public pool and it is required by County of San Diego, Department of Health. So, we’ll have to put up with the signs. However, Yuck!, soggy carpet and “dingy feeling”…that is something you never have to put up with. I am very sorry. Please give me a call, 858.454.7101, or email at lclark@pacificahost.com . I’d love to learn more and have a chance to make it right.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing