We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Pleasantly surprised. As my wife said, "it's such a cute and quaint hotel", which in-fact it was. Great location, not far from beaches and just across the street from a fabulous Mexican Restaurant. The staff could not do enough for us if we needed anything. Breakfast was ok, what you would normally expect from a Holiday Express but the coffee was exceptional. For us it was a perfect location, close to everything and anything we wanted to do and a great retreat to come back to at the end of the day with several restaurant choices all within walking distance. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 131 gives an exceptional view of the pool area or ask for a 2nd or 3rd story room above the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words about your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
90
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just got back from 3 nights in this hotel. It is in a great spot- you can walk to the beach and has a nice pool, and is a great price, but I wouldn't stay here again. The first room we got was next to a vending machine, laundry room, ice maker and parking lot and literally was the size of a closet. We switched rooms but it wasn't much better- bigger but only one smoked glass window so it was literally cave like. (Rm 256) Our friends got our first room when they checked in later, spent the night and said there was a hole in the wall and that the AC was broken- let alone it was super loud because of its location (Rm 143). Then every time I plugged my own hair dryer into the electricity, I'd blow a fuse and all the electricity would go off in the room. This happened 5 times over 2 different days. The breakfast was free- standard - nothing good or exceptional and the pancake machine was broken. The pool is nice but there are no real pool or beach towels- they have a few towels that are more like hand towels but super thin and non absorbent. our friends all had mediocre/poor stay (we were all there for a wedding). I guess you get what you pay for. Again, the pool and beach are nice, but I would spend more to stay some place else. I had also stayed at a holiday inn express in Newark, Delware the week before and it was much much nicer.

Room Tip: Avoid room 143 and 256
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawa306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our value, beach location and pool. I apologize for your difficulty with the electricity in room 256. This is the first time that I have heard about this problem and will be sure to have it corrected. I am happy to report that the pancake machine has been repaired. But, I am sorry you were not able to enjoy them while you were here.

Should you find the value, location and pool worth consideration of another chance to earn your business, we would enjoy the opportunity.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

An independently owned Holiday Inn Express so not a standard HI but much nicer. Great location and good facilities including lovely pool area. Great hot breakfast (although the pancake machine was broken for the three days we were there which was a shame). Service was helpful but a bit slow at times - there was only ever one person on reception who seemed to do everything and so spent a long time with each customer. Great if it's you with the question, not so great if you're third in line in the queue. We were a family of four with children aged 9 and 7 so had a double queen room which was plenty big enough. We asked for a room off the main road and so were looking over the pool which was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main road for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKG_Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi EKG,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your recent visit. We are also grateful that you took the time to share your experience.

We are glad you enjoyed the location, facilities accommodations, and helpful service. Please accept my apology for the delay at reception and for our pancake machine failure. We have repaired the machine and are working on ways to shorten any delays.

Again, thank you for the review. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hi we have just travelled around USA and our final destination was this hotel. It really lives up to its reputation. Great location, great facilities including a lovely pool and hot breakfast included. Rooms are quite, include microwave fridge tea coffee making facilities and are very well decorated and furnished. We stayed here for 5 days and would give this Holiday Inn express a 10 out of 10. Its a few steps from the beast beach in San Diago and I highly reccomend it to anyone who would like a nice relaxing break in a beautiful part of San Diago.
ps no 30 bus stop outside hotel takes you directly into sa Diago and dont forget Su Casa over the street - a great little resturant. Happy Holidays x

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we opted for a room away from the pool but not required as pool shuts at 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi Patsy,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and for taking the time to share your experience. We are all very happy that you enjoyed the accommodations, facilities, location and that you were able to relax and be yourself at your final destination.

I know we are just a bit too far away to drive in for a weekend:). However, we look forward to your next holiday in the USA and hope that it includes a visit to the
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this hotel as the "coastal under $100 option" on a travel website where all you are shown is the price of the hotel until you book. I think the price was $85 per night.

We stayed here overnight in February, 2012 and were very happy with our stay. We have two children ages 6, and 2. We had a two queen size bed room and there was still plenty of room for the port a crib we brought for our two year old. The mattresses were comfortable as well. The pillows were not.

The hotel staff was friendly, and the morning breakfast was good as well.

We did not use the pool because it was cold out, but it seemed to be in good shape.

I am giving this hotel a 3 rating, but for it's location it really could almost be a 4. We spend a couple of weekends a year in the San Diego area and I think I will take my chances with the travel site again for the next visit and see if this hotel pops up again.

The only real downside is that the hotel parking lot is a little small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieP625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi Annie,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your visit in February and for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my apology for the uncomfortable pillows. I am sorry we missed it before you experienced it.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed for a week and was treated to not only a good hotel, but also didn't experience San Diego's well known June gloom. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a real couch to sit on. The pool was not too cold and the jacuzzi was not too hot. It is convenient to both the ocean and good dining at Su Casa. This is a definite recommendation - you would be hard pressed to find a better deal at this price.

Room Tip: Paying in advance gives an even better deal to an already good deal.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Kate,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your visit to Sunny Diego May Gray and June Gloom gave us a break this year! It has been beautiful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We must have got lucky - lovely room looking onto patios and swimming pool. Definitely not your usual Holiday Inn Express !! Older motel/hotel. We had a room ground level overlooking the pool - well maintained, clean and definitely updated bathroom. No complaint, especially for the price. Well-located to get around La Jolla and San Diego area. Adequate parking, decent free breakfast buffet and as an added bonus - good Mexican Restaurant just across the street - Su Casa - this means that you can have one or even two Margaritas, great dinner, not drive and get home safely across the road !! All in all, very good value for the price. Booked ahead, paid in full and got a great rate and absolutely no problems at check-in. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room overlooking the pool - nice outlook and even if you don't swim - nice to sit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanM1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Susan,

Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla for your recent visit and taking the time to share your experience. Yes we are a little “different” and we are delighted that the accommodations met and exceeded your expectations. The “Book Early and Save – Advance Purchase” rate you mentioned is our best value.

We may want to add that after Margaritas, it’s best to use the crosswalk

Thanks again, we can’t wait to see you again,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
877 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing