We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel, Bad Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This Residence Inn is great for families, as the breakfast and dinner buffets provide enough variety for children. Many families stay at this hotel, and there are several outdoor BBQ grills for families to gather and cook their own food.

However, as a business traveler, I did not particularly care for all the children running around the premises unsupervised. Because of the amount of casual travelers at the hotel, the breakfast and dinner buffets turn into a messy food-war zone, with food spilling all over the serving area.

The hotel was recently remodeled, which I quite like due to its modern decor and color scheme. The rooms are quite new, which is nice. However, there is no one-bedroom apartments, only studios. The front desk could attempt to be friendlier.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScarfGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 734 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

To be fair, I haven't had a full night's sleep here yet. There is a party going on upstairs and all I can hear right now is lots of bass from the music, activity in the kitchen, and foot stomping non stop.

Upon check-in you have to sign a hotel party policy. I signed it w/o reading it as I was not planning on having a party. I ended up calling the front desk to ask what the policy was as the people above me are obviously having one.

In reading other reviews, I realize this is a hot spot for friends visiting students at the local university. The parking lot is full and there are lots of youthful people outdoors.

If you're a business traveler hoping to get work done or a solo traveler hoping for rest and relaxation - avoid this place. It does not have the right atmosphere.

I am hoping I can actually get some rest. If not, I'll be switching hotels.

One positive note - it DOES appear that they have renovated the rooms since some of these reviews were written. The kitchen is nice with all stainless steel GE appliances and furnishings and decor looks modern and recently done. Too bad all that doesn't outweigh all the noise from upstairs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay wasn't horrible but there are definitely some improvements that need to be made.The room looked nice, new appliances and bedding. But the carpet turned our feet black, the shower had no water pressure and the bathroom door was warped and wouldn't close. Also, we found two COCKROACHES in our room! Big ones! When we told the woman at the front desk she said, "Cockroaches? Oh yeah that happens. I guess I could have somebody spray your room if you want." No apology, nothing. I wasn't expecting a 4 star stay here, but cockroaches to me are unacceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ponderingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We booked here for an event that was being held near by. After staying at many Marriott properties over the years this one left me disappointed.
First of all we had two rooms. They were both clean and well appointed. However, one of the rooms had a moldy pizza left in the refrigerator and the other one wreaked of smoke from a fireplace that was lit on the floor above it. Also, the parking situation is less than desirable. This is a very large property however the parking is rather cramped. We saw two cars receive fender benders in less than 24 hrs. However, it's a great property for families traveling with children.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I stayed at a penthouse suite which included two queen size beds in the first floor, a separate loft upstairs with a king size bed, two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, and a spacious living room with a fireplace. This particular suite could easily fit six people. The room had a lovely decor with updated amenities; it was overall clean and comfortable. Additionally, they offered free internet access, free parking and free buffet breakfast and snacks in the afternoon. Plus, it's only a few minutes drive from downtown La Jolla and San Diego - but they also offer complimentary shuttle service on weekdays within a five mile radius to certain locations. We paid about $169 total including taxes. You couldn't ask for more! It's like a home away from home. Some minor shortcomings? Check in was a little slow - and our requests for hygiene items were also not immediately forthcoming. Parking on weekends can be a pain too; it was packed when we arrived there in the late evening. Overall though, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I really liked staying in this hotel. Is really well located (malls and restaurants around) in the beautiful La Jolla, CA. The hotel had a lot of renovations happening at this period which was sort of annoying, but everything else was really pleasant. The breakfast is really good and there are free happy hours between monday and thursday. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamco1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Residence Inn w/ our 3.5 yr old & 14mo old. We stayed in a King Studio unit using Marriott points. Overall, we had an average experience, the King studio was a bit too small for our family, but the room itself was ok and the full kitchen was definitely helpful. Free parking is good but lot was small and sometimes parking was very tight.

Pros: The hotel service was pretty good. We had no problems booking and checking in w/ our points. Front desk was friendly. We requested to have a coffee table and end table removed from our room to create more space for our daughter's pack-n-play and they accomodated us. Also requested extra towels which were delivered within 15m. Dishwasher leaked and we reported this issue on the first day but it wasn't fixed, so we just had to leave a towel when we ran it.

Cons: The breakfast buffet is very crowded (as most people have noted in their reviews) and chaotic. The food is ok and probably better than most (egg, waffles, bacon, potatoes), but the experience of trying to find a table in a dining room way too small for hotel capacity and fighting crowds lining up to get the food is pretty bad. We ate there 2 of the mornings and just gave up the 3rd morning. Also as mentioned, the unit itself is not too spacious, thought the renovations have made the decor nice and modern - the bathroom is *very* small with the door barely able to close in the WC/shower tub.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownEyeGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $167 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing