We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience Marriott Residence La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience Marriott Residence La Jolla”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights there art the beginning of July. This is the worst Marriott property I have ever encountered. I always stay Marriott when possible but never again here.
There were spoiled cherries under the cushion in the lounge chair from previous occupants. Then the room had not been made up by 2:30 PM on Sat and when I called for just some towels it took 3 calls and 30 minutes to finally have someone from the front desk bring some as we were going to a ballgame early.
I am not used to this type of non-service from a Marriott. I realize it is the busy season there but this place needs new management and more staff during this time of the year. Hopefully they will clean up the mess there.

Room Tip: Pick another property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braneburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good evening I hope this message finds you well. After reading about your recent stay with us I am very saddened and I offer my sincerest apologizes. You mentioned your dissatisfaction with some cleanliness issues that you discovered during your stay, this is not in line with Marriott brand standards of which we practice on a daily basis. There was an obvious oversight by staff and we would like to correct that behavior. Please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel or anyone of our management team so follow up may be pursued. Again I apologize for this bad experience and I assure you this is not typical of our hotel. You're reply and feedback is anxiously anticipated.

Sincerely,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    277
    103
    39
    28
See reviews for
302
122
22
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent five nights at the Residence Inn with my husband and had a positive experience overall. Had to change rooms after the first two nights because our bed was extremely uncomfortable, but the second one was great. Otherwise the room was well-appointed. The Internet was reliable, and I liked the fact they offered a extra-high speed option for a nominal fee.

Breakfast was great. It was definitely a zoo on Saturday when the hotel was completely full, but still manageable. The staff were really good at re-stocking items quickly.

I found the parking situation to be really irritating. To be forced to pay for parking, but then not even able to find a spot on the hotel grounds didn't seem right to me. If they are going to charge $14/night for parking, there should be a designated spot for each room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meli299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Meli299 thank you so very much for taking an opportunity to share your review regarding your stay with us. My staff and I are happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience at our hotel. Furthermore it’s great to have a Senior Contributor like yourself evaluating our hotel in such a high regard on TripAdvisor.

You mentioned that you did have an issue with the bed in the first suite we had checked you into but we transferred you to a more comfortable one later. I apologize that the first two nights weren't as comfortable as the last three, but none the less glad a better outcome resulted from that. You also said that you enjoyed the reliable internet service that we provided, which is complimentary, and additionally that we had an option for a higher speed available for a reasonable fee. Breakfast is always a great selling point for our hotel and it looks like you took advantage of that as well. It can get pretty busy, especially the last few months since we've been at full occupancy most of the summer season. I'm glad to hear that we were able to manage and maintain quality during that time.

One other issue you had during your stay was regarding parking. I do understand the frustration of not having a close parking spot when a fee is assessed during your hotel stay. If you have read some of the previous responses to parking issues I have mentioned why we do charge for parking; space is limited and has to be maintained. Fortunately we do have an overflow parking lot next door to us but again when we are very busy or sold out that still might be a distance from your room. I apologize for the inconveniences that this may have posed while you were here.

Thank you again for the effort you took to write this review. We all appreciate it very much and we invite you back the next time you are in La Jolla. Have a great and wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the residence inn for 3 months while working as in San Diego. The hotel was great, there was free beer and dinner provided for half the week, and the front desk (big props to Cassy) was helpful whenever I needed something.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you bensky91 for giving our hotel such a high rating here on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you stayed with us for an extended period of time and we are glad you thought our hotel was great. You specifically mentioned how helpful Cassy was during your stay and we already acknowledged her exemplary guest service. We appreciate you time and again thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our recent visit to San Diego. The reason we chose this location is that each boy would have their own space. We also liked the daily breakfast! That would be the only pros of this location. It is sandwiched between an apartment complex and office complex so it not at all in a picturesque place. It is about a 10 minute drive to the beach. The hotel was busy the weekend we were there so be prepared to wait for breakfast-especially the waffle machines of which there are two of. The boys used the pool which was okay for a quick swim. I could not figure out if people lived in the hotel on a more permanent basis than a few nights.This is a good place to stay with many people but it is not luxury and if that is what you are looking for you should stay elsewhere in the area. Also, $14 a day to park your car which is quite ridiculous for this brand of hotels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinedenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello kristinedenise I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. From looking at how you rated us and what you wrote your overall review of our hotel is average.

We do understand that some guests have certain expectations and we won’t always be the right fit. You chose to stay with us because you wanted the right accommodations for you and your boys which we did have; including a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. A lot of families make that same decision since we offer larger suites like our Penthouse Executive (accommodating up to 5 guests) and our Penthouse Family suite (accommodating up to 7 guests). I am glad that the suite did meet your needs and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

You made mention of the location of our hotel not being the best and also rated it low. We are sorry to hear that you found it to be this way, we see it a bit differently. Being so close to conveniently accessible restaurants and shopping, walking distance in fact, is a great selling point. Also for those wanting to go to the beach or the famous downtown La Jolla/Cove it’s an easy 10 minute drive. We also provide complimentary shuttle service there Monday thru Friday 6am-9pm on the hour upon a guest's request. Our TripAdvisor reviewers seem to agree as well, it actually just beats out all other categories that they get to rate. I'm sorry that the location didn't work for you as well as everyone else.

Our summer is our peak season and it was one of our busiest ones to date. It can be quite busy during the breakfast especially that last hour since a lot of people like to sleep in. The buffet goes on for 3 hours and the first hour to hour and a half tends to be calm and an enjoyable experience. We can't unfortunately control the times guests come in so if we have a day where a lot have waited till the last hour or the last 15 minutes it can be a wait for certain items. Our team has actually come up with a clever way to let guests know about "breakfast traffic". At the front desk we have signs talking about "Green Light" days for lower occupancy where coming at any time will be great with little or no wait time. Next we have "Yellow Light" for the days where we are busy but not too much, so the suggestion is come in earlier and you won't experience too much delay but coming in later shouldn't be too bad either. Last, you guessed it, "Red Light" is for the sold out/high occupancy days, it is expected that the breakfast area will be busy all hours except for the first hour. Most of the summer was "Red" so we tried to always let our guests know that coming in earlier helped avoid lines and waiting.

We are an extended stay hotel so we do cater to long term stay guests and it’s a home away from home. So yes we do have a lot of guests that are part of our Residence Inn family, some staying months at a time. We would agree with your statement about our hotel not being a luxury brand. We deliver a brand specific to the needs of our guests. They want a large suite with fully equipped kitchens including a microwave, refrigerator and stove. They want to stay productive with complimentary internet access at a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Our guests enjoy a full buffet breakfast every morning and also a complimentary social hour Monday thru Wednesday with dinner including beer and wine. We have a lot more amenities on top of that but that’s just to name a few. This is all offered at reasonable rates and that is what keeps our guests coming back.

Again we do appreciate your comments and feedback, we do regret that you didn’t find us to be at a higher level. Your opinion matters and now your voice has been heard here on TripAdvisor. This is a great tool for those future guests still deciding on their travel accommodations. You might help the next guest make the right decision on what would work best for their wants and needs. Thank you again for your time and I hope you have a great and wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

As with most Residence Inns, this one is lovely with a friendly front desk staff and good location. Pricey because it's La Jolla and they now charge $14 for parking when it used to be free but if you want a full kitchen, clean rooms, breakfast Mon. - Sun. and evening snacks which could be dinner Mon. - Wed., it's fine. Our last stay resulted in a couple room complaints such as front window wouldn't stay open (none have screens) and paltry kitchen supplies but they filled in after we asked. Typical breakfast fare not for organic, unprocessed palettes (except for the oatmeal) but good for others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srir8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to share you experience here on TripAdvisor. We are all happy to hear that you chose our hotel as your “…home away from home!”. Having such a friendly and attentive staff really sets us apart from the rest. The amenities that we provide contribute to the overall value of the stay. Again we appreciate your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 9-year old granddaughter, stayed four nights at the Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla. We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years and found this Residence Inn to be exceptional in every way. Each and every staff member that we encountered was friendly, helpful and truly committed to providing excellent services. The complimentary daily breakfasts and evening dinners (Mondays through Wednesdays) were very nice and greatly assisted in keeping our eating expenses down during our stay. The heated outdoor pool and spas provided us with a restful experience, while our granddaughter really enjoyed playing in the pool! The suites site is located near several tourist attractions, which made it convenient for us to attend San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Sea World on separate days. Our studio suite was very clean and comfortable and promptly serviced daily by Housecleaning Staff. We would highly recommend that those traveling to and/or near the San Diego area, especially families, seniors and those watching their budget, seriously consider staying at this particular Residence Inn, as you will not be disappointed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rjs2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
On behalf of the hotel and myself thank you very much for the amazing review of our property. It is a pleasure to hear that your wife and granddaughter with you included enjoyed your visit to San Diego. Readers here on TripAdvisor will get great information and feedback about what we offer from your contribution. You covered a lot of what we provide such as the complimentary buffet breakfast served every morning, evening social hours, heated pools and spas, and a staff that is fully committed to making each guest feel important. Please come visit us again real soon. Thank you and have a great and wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

The smiling faces of the staff at the front desk and throughout my stay felt more like friends welcoming me home than anything else, and the overall atmosphere of the Residence Inn was inviting and livable.

My room was spacious and homey, complete with a full kitchen. This hotel is perfect for short trips as well as extended vacations. The buffet style breakfast was always a good way to get the day started, and the close proximity to beaches and shopping centers turned my time in California into a truly amazing experience. The hotel shuttle made transportation and sight-seeing easy.

All logistics aside, the friendly and personable staff is what made MY stay so enjoyable.

Thank you Residence Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Jessica it was so great to read your review of the hotel and our staff. Everyone here really appreciates it when a guest recognizes how much we care about our guests, it really makes our day! Our culture as a Residence Inn is to make every guest feel like this is a "home away from home". Like you mentioned aside from the awesome staff we have the hotel is perfectly situated to explore all that La Jolla has to offer. It is a short walk to local restaurants and shopping, and if you want to go to the beach or the famous La Jolla cove we can take you with our convenient and complimentary shuttle; or if you have a car it’s an easy 10 minute drive. Thank you again for taking a moment to let the TripAdvisor community know how great of a hotel we have. We all hope to see you again on your next trip to La Jolla!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing