We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got the 2-bedroom villa for a shopping trip at the outlet mall near the border with Mexico. The 2-bedroom is similar to some Residence Inn hotels that are actually loft-type accommodation - two double beds on the first level and a queen bed on the loft level. So kids may use the beds while the parents can have privacy on the loft "bedroom."

Breakfast is the same Residence Inn fare and the space is quite limited especially during weekends when it seemed that parents and families of UCSD students stay there to visit their kids. So, be early as much as possible.

Location is in a pretty area in La Jolla. Really a smooth stay, can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello cmpfigueroa, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel accommodations. It seems that the experience was a positive one and you enjoyed what we had to offer. You mentioned how breakfast can be quite busy; this is true as we do have a lot of families that stay with us on weekends. The recommendation to come in earlier is a great suggestion and it is one we make as well. Of course some do like to sleep in a bit longer, "who doesn't!". Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope we have another opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    266
    100
    37
    25
See reviews for
294
119
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jerzy, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Residence Inn Marriott is totally awesome. I stayed here twice for business travel. Location: It's in the UTC/La Jolla area. It is a 10 min car ride to the beach and UTC mall as well. It's in a quite zone too. Lobby: The gym and breakfast area are here. Breakfast is from 6-9am I believe with good food selection. Coffee and Juices were always available. They have 2 newspaper kinds here USA today and Wall Street Journal which I liked. The pool is walkable within the community. There's evening food Monday-Wednesday. Rooms: I had a single queen bed each time. The Kitchen is nice and big. The bathroom is a bit small but meets the requirement. Staff was helpful and smiled in the lobby. Overall it's in a great location and everything close by. Do me a favor and hit 'Yes' if this Review was helpful to you.

Room Tip: Go for building 1 and 2 so you could walk to the lobby for breakfast and evening socials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiteSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
NiteSurfer1, Hello I hope this message finds you well. Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your very gracious and highly rated review of our hotel. We are very glad that you have chosen to stay with us on separate occasions, it is a testament to our commitment to great service and lodging quality. We hope to have you back again very soon and thank you again for your time and effort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Quite simply was excellent. Staff were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast was always good. The location was great and was within walking distance of restaurants, shopping centre, movie house etc. Well worth the visit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Good Evening Tom C, I hope this message finds you well. On behalf of the hotel staff and I, we thank you for the positive review of our hotel. I am very glad to see that you found our staff warm and welcoming. We always strive to deliver the Marriott world class service that we are known for. Thank you again for your review, I'm sure the readers here on TripAdvisor appreciate it as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Second time staying with the Residence La Jolla. Great rooms, staff was very helpful and friendly. brekkie every day, dinner 3 or 4 nights a week, fire pit, pool, hot tub, grills around the complex, walking to stores, movie theaters, bus to beaches, everything for business or play is a short distance away.

Room Tip: Upstairs room don't have AC noise or the sound of walking above your head (if you are there work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Residence Inn looks like an upscale apartment or condo complex rather than a hotel. I only stayed there two nights, but it would be great for long stays with the fully equipped kitchen (although the hotel provides a free dinner and breakfast most nights - so I don't know if I'd use it!) The location is perfect for business or vacation in and around La Jolla.. I'd definitely consider staying there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in one of the back units in this property and it was very quiet. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. The grounds were well-kept and a nice selection available for breakfast. They're pet-friendly, though the $100 non-refundable fee was pretty steep, and parking's not free ($12).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have to admit, this hotel was really nice. Their daily breakfast was good & the location was near other restaurants. Pet friendly with nearby grass area for daily routines.

My overall stay here was great but my one complaint is the parking fee. It was $12/day. My husband & I stayed for the weekend but if we had decided to stay longer, the parking fee would have added up. For an extended stay hotel, I don't understand the fee. Maybe it's typical of hotels in La Jolla but I can only imagine if I had to stay here for a week, which I probably would not do just because of the parking fee.

Room Tip: If you can find a hotel that does not charge for parking fee, get that instead but if you must get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing