We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Second time staying with the Residence La Jolla. Great rooms, staff was very helpful and friendly. brekkie every day, dinner 3 or 4 nights a week, fire pit, pool, hot tub, grills around the complex, walking to stores, movie theaters, bus to beaches, everything for business or play is a short distance away.

Room Tip: Upstairs room don't have AC noise or the sound of walking above your head (if you are there work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 719 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Residence Inn looks like an upscale apartment or condo complex rather than a hotel. I only stayed there two nights, but it would be great for long stays with the fully equipped kitchen (although the hotel provides a free dinner and breakfast most nights - so I don't know if I'd use it!) The location is perfect for business or vacation in and around La Jolla.. I'd definitely consider staying there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in one of the back units in this property and it was very quiet. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. The grounds were well-kept and a nice selection available for breakfast. They're pet-friendly, though the $100 non-refundable fee was pretty steep, and parking's not free ($12).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have to admit, this hotel was really nice. Their daily breakfast was good & the location was near other restaurants. Pet friendly with nearby grass area for daily routines.

My overall stay here was great but my one complaint is the parking fee. It was $12/day. My husband & I stayed for the weekend but if we had decided to stay longer, the parking fee would have added up. For an extended stay hotel, I don't understand the fee. Maybe it's typical of hotels in La Jolla but I can only imagine if I had to stay here for a week, which I probably would not do just because of the parking fee.

Room Tip: If you can find a hotel that does not charge for parking fee, get that instead but if you must get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Close Torry pines Drive and the beaches and yet quiet and secluded. Very large rooms and lots of amenities for cooking etc. reasonably good hot breakfast, all for about $110/ night. Parking is $12/night. Very nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the end of Sept. while visiting the San Diego area. This hotel is about 9 miles from downtown San Diego, but with easy access to the major highways, it is an easy drive to the attractions of San Diego. Our room was a studio suite which included a King bed, pull out sofa in the sitting area, bathroom and full kitchen. Our room was ready upon arrival and check in was efficient. The parking area was congested as part was closed for renovation. This work was completed before we left and the parking situation at this property is greatly improved.
Our first night stay was a Wednesday and a Bar-B-Q dinner was INCLUDED. They also include a hot breakfast buffet every day which was very good and served in a comfortable dining area. We expected to find mostly business people staying at this extended stay residence, but were pleasantly surprised to find many families making use of the property. The location was desireable as it is in the mostly residential and quiet area of La Jolla.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread outover a large are so we asked for a location that would be easy walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family stayed at the RI LaJolla for a long weekend recently and the property is very nice and well maintained. The buffet breakfast had all the choices a family could ask for in terms of food and drinks. The pools and jacuzzis are well kept and in good locations on the property. The room was nice with a pull out bed that our daughter slept on. I would highly recommend this property for a home-base for a trip to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattylenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $154 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing