We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty of La Jolla Around You. Easy Access to Work, Play, Food, Shop, University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Beauty of La Jolla Around You. Easy Access to Work, Play, Food, Shop, University”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Two-story townhouse style RI. No elevator, but once you get luggage upstairs, you're treated to an open, spacious penthouse suite (with loft), fireplace, & kitchenette.

(Peculiarity of TV remotes -- turning on upstairs & downstairs TVs at same time -- is remedied by wrapping small notepad paper around end of remote & aiming it at TV.)

Abundant healthy choices for both breakfast & dinner; overflow of diners from gatehouse either sit at outside tables or bring meals back to room.

Well-used rows of working washers ($2) & dryers ($2) are available.

Small fitness center (older equipment) above gatehouse.

Onsite parking $12.

Spectacular location/beauty of La Jolla trumps any slight annoyances.

----------------
Addendum:

Impressive kitchen staff consistently amazes with quality of food (variety of fruits, *fresh* salads) & ability to replenish items despite never-ending stream of meal-time guests. (You won't wait long for a depleted item. Only wish they offered *whole-grain* breads/bagels.)

Dinners served 3 evenings only  (Mon., Tue., Wed.), but plenty of eateries within walking distance (or brief drive). 

Rubio's (fish tacos) & Chipotle are tasty, affordable alternatives. Also, at the shopping center (Villa La Jolla Dr.) has a variety of eateries, Whole Foods, & Trader Joes (if you've time & inclination to prepare meals in kitchenette).

If you've time to explore, La Jolla Cove/ Shores; watch seals at "Children's Pool." (Extraordinarily scenic locations; you'll not regret bringing your camera.)

No problems with internet connectivity or speed.

Unless you prefer less spacious accommodations, avoid studios. Although adequate, if spaciousness is priority, 1-bdrm loft is heavenly. (Once spoiled by such roominess, it's difficult to go back.)

Convenient access to San Diego, UCSD, and natural beauty of La Jolla in a condo/ residential setting (lovely landscaping of flowering shrubs, plants, trees) with business/ commerce a stone's throw away.

If on holiday, allow yourself enough time to explore. If on business, prepare to pry yourself away from such an idyllic worksite. Either way, once you've experienced RI La Jolla, you'll want to return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Let me take a moment to thank you for writing a review about our hotel and secondly returning again to give even more helpful information to TripAdvisor readers. La Jolla is a true gem of San Diego and we like to think we are the best option when visiting the area. Access to all that the area has to offer is right at your finger tips and we'll even shuttle you to those locations! For work or play you'll love staying here with us. Thank you very much for your time and we invite you again to explore and discover more of sunny La Jolla, CA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    273
    102
    38
    28
See reviews for
298
121
20
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently spent about two months at this hotel due to flood damage/reconstruction in our home. The staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. Each staff member was courteous and friendly. They seemed genuinely concerned not only about our stay at the Marriott but how our house restoration was progressing. This attitude obviously comes from the manager, Rickie. She has been with the Marriott for many years and her experience definitely shows. She takes an interest in each guest and is very visible on the property? (When does she ever go home?!)
The breakfast buffet and Wednesday night BBQ offer many choices and can accommodate both the health conscious and those with more mainstream taste. The "snacks" on Monday and Tuesday night can almost make a dinner as well.
Though the hotel allows dogs, they all appeared well behaved and quiet. I never heard any barking. The "Pet Walk" always had plastic bags available and almost every owner was courteous about cleaning up after their pet.
The staff makes this property special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Good Afternoon I hope this message finds you well. Thank you very much for you recent review of hotel. We very much appreciate the time you took to do this and to specifically point out our world class service. We understand our guests have many different options when choosing a hotel while traveling and we want ourselves to stand apart. Our commitment to delivering that excellent service is in every facet of our hotel from management, front office, housekeeping, and maintenance staff. We hope to have you stay with us again very soon and thank you again for your pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Residence Inn four times in March and April. Three out of four times we had quiet rooms with comfortable beds. The last time I did not get a good night sleep because my bed was too soft and too saggy in the middle. Nonetheless, this hotel was good place to stay for visits to UCSD. The staff was very accommodating and helpful especially Cassandra and Ali. I cannot recall names of other helpful front desk staff.

Breakfasts, like in other Residence Inns, were plentiful. The Wednesday BBQ seemed to attract many guests and others. From overheard conversation at the next table it looked like some non-guests come often for free food.

The parking costs $12.00 per day but at least there is a shuttle which took us to UCSD Moores Center so we did not have to pay a parking fee there as well.

I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I very much appreciate your time and effort you've made in writing a review about our hotel. Ensuring all of our guests have an overall great experience is of upmost importance to us. Having an uncomfortable bed is not something we want for our guests and we take that issue seriously. We do standard checks of bed integrity and flip mattresses, but the best judges of all this is our guests that sleep on the beds. We invite you to return and if something isn't to par we will make every effort to correct it. On another note we most certainly will recognize the two associates you mentioned that went out of their way to ensure you had an enjoyable experience. Again thank you very much for your time and review of your stays, we take all your feedback with great gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I and our 5 children wanted to take a trip to San Diego to take in Sea World, Legoland, the Zoo, the beach, etc. The pace that we were willing to stay was critical because the size of our family and some of the needs that we had. After much research I settled on this Residence Inn because if the comments here on Trip Advisor. Thank you to all who commented on this property because it was INCREDIBLE!!! With it being so close to the university, I was somewhat hesitant due to our family, but it couldn't have been more ideal! The Family Suite was perfect for our family, VERY CLEAN! My 10 year old boy always commented at how nice they made the room everyday when we came back "home"!! The housekeeping did an incredible job, remember we have 5 kids!! :) The breakfast buffet was outstanding and saved us buckoos of bucks, again, remember 5 kids!! The staff for breakfast was AMAZING and so genuinely kind. They were very helpful, courteous, and kind to my children who like to be independent. The front desk staff including management couldn't have been more accomodating and were great to work with when we wanted to stay another night. We did not want to leave and come back to real life!! Thank you Residence Inn in La Jolla for such a wonderful vacation experience for my family!!!

Room Tip: I just asked for the most quite suite instead of one by the pool. It's not that far of a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
"Great staff equals GREAT STAY!!", that is what we love to hear. Thank you for letting us and the viewers on TripAdvisor know about your great experience with us. We do have a lot of those extended stay business travelers, but we definitely are a great place for families just like yours. We sincerely appreciate your detailed and useful review, I'm sure we share the appreciation as the readers. Hope to see you and your family again very soon, thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our son lives down in Pacific Beach and usually stayed south of there or on hotel circle, not anymore. This property is near everything but so quiet and relaxing will definitely be the place we now stay. The staff at the desk were so friendly and cordial, the layout of the property have small quads that have a spa in each one along with a very shady and tucked away atmosphere. There are great restaurants within walking distance along with shopping. The breakfast buffet is one of the better even among Residence Inns. It was Memorial weekend, full of people and kids at the pool and breakfast but like a cruise ship once you left the main common area very quiet. See you again soon,,,,,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In San Diego there are many choices for guest accommodations and we like to think we have a lot that sets us apart. Having that "at home" feel accompanied with a friendly "at your service" experience is what we pride ourselves on. Reading reviews from guests like you reconfirm that we are keeping with our commitment to stellar guest satisfaction! Again thank you so much for your time and choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The floor plan is interesting. We were all quite comfy. There are 2 queen size beds downstairs alongside the living and kitchen area. There are no doors separating them. There is also a loft upstairs with it's own bathroom. The breakfast is wonderful and runs from 7 - 10. Many hot tubs. Nice warm pool. We would certainly stay again even with the rather odd floor plan.

Room Tip: There are many different floor plans. It just depends on the number in your traveling party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Good day and thank you for your recent review. From the description of your suite it appears you stayed in our Family Suite/Penthouse that accomadates up to 7 people. If some privacy is what you are looking for our Penthouse Executive might be great for you. This room configuration is very much like the Family Suite yet it has a closed off room downstairs with a King bed next to the living room. If you come back to the area maybe trying out the Penthouse Executive could make your stay even more enjoyable. Thank you again for your time and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was in La Jolla for business and chose this hotel for location and the Marriott name, I was not disappointed. My suite had the full kitchen and was a good size. My bed was a very comfortable king. Very clean and private, this Residence Inn is in a nice quiet location but very close to restaurants and grocery stores. During the week there is a good free breakfast and free dinner and wine/beer in the evenings. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The workout room was a little small and hard to find, and when the parking lot is full it can be a tight squeeze. Overall though I had a great stay and great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. With a recognizable name like Marriott you expect the best, and our goal is to deliver award winning service. Additionally with the Residence Inn brand you get a lot more like you pointed out; Daily Buffet Breakfast, Evening Socials during the week, and so much more. On behalf of the hotel and myself again thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing