We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like I remember”

Brockton Villa Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Brockton Villa Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,239 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Prospect
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not like I remember”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean many times, and always remembered the food to be outstanding. I took some family members who were in town to breakfast this morning, and the whole experience was a let down. The service was quite good, but the food was awful. Overlooked bacon, when it eventually arrived, warmed over breakfast potatoes, and overcooked eggs. Even the house speciality of crab cakes Benedict which I had ordered many times before was so bland, that I never even offered a taste to my guests.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wshiresd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    247
    91
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Charming and lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Brockton Villa is set in one of the most beautiful places a restaurant could be: literally, right across the street from the Pacific Ocean in La Jolla. It's an old place, which contributes to the charm. Up quite a few stairs from the street level, virtually every seat in the house -- and all those outside the house -- has a gorgeous view of the ocean.

By "outside the house," I do mean outside. It's not a patio, really; it's more like a concrete pad with tables and chairs. And those portable, overhead heaters, in case it's chilly. And they have blankets, as well, if you want.

One can have breakfast, lunch, or dinner at Brockton Villa, but the signature dish seems to be their "Coast Toast" -- the best French toast you're likely to find anywhere. And they promote it everywhere! The recipe is on their website, and on professionally printed, laminated recipe cards you can take as you leave! You may be able to duplicate the recipe, but you can't duplicate the ambiance, which undoubtedly makes everything taste better.

On a recent morning there, we enjoyed sun, calm waters, mild temps, and the slightest of breezes; seals, cormorants, pelicans, and sea gulls; swimmers, snorkelers, scuba divers, kayakers, and paddle boarders; fishing boats, larger ships, helicopters, fighter jets from nearby Marine Corp Air Station Miramar, a beautiful B-17 bomber, and hang gliders at nearby Torrey Pines Gliderport. Did I mention the atmosphere?

And the food is good, too. It will add up to more than you'd pay elsewhere, but you really won't feel cheated, as you do get a lot to eat. It's just, well, La Jolla prices. But that's OK.

Relax, enjoy good service, great food, unparalleled scenery, and a beautiful setting.

Go. Without hesitation, go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmhprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sunset dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were seated on the balcony outside with a great view of the sunset and La Jolla Cove. Our server was fantastic from the wine service to menu knowledge and service. The sea bass was excellent. We had a very memorable evening at Brockton Villa!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank d7slick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views along with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is located in La Jolla Cove area and while parking can be tough sometimes, it's worth the effort. The Cove is one of the most beautiful locations in San Diego and the food choices at Brockton are many. Little bit pricey, though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We absolutely love this place. The views are wonderful but the food is as good or better. We went here twice on our last visit and can't wait to come back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SantosdeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brockton Villa Restaurant also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Brockton Villa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing