We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“people watching near beach, easy to like food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbarella Restaurant & Bar

Barbarella Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #36 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Shores Drive
Transit: Bus Stop is located within walking distance.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“people watching near beach, easy to like food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is side walk cafe with in and out door seating and fun decorations. I prefer the salads and individual pizzas and the appetizers. Close to La Jolla Shores beach a lovely park and beach with views of La Jolla caves and Torrey Pines etc

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bess32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    76
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, and prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited Barbarella on a Saturday this month. We had lunch and drinks. I had the roasted chicken sandwich with arugula and apple chutney and a mimosa. The sandwich was excellent and came with a generous serving of delicious fries. The mimosa was made with fresh-squeezed orange juice! The decor was in full swing for Halloween and our server, Cherry, was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. I would visit here again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugal_Traveler92593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped here for a late lunch (2:30 pm) after kayaking. We loved the atmosphere; very open (we sat on their veranda) and eclectic. It was my husband, myself and our two teenagers. The waitress was wonderful, accommodating and helpful. We each ordered something different; hamburger, salad, panini and seafood dish. Everything was really good and tasty. We didn't have to wait (though we were there at an off hour). We loved sitting there watching people walk by and just enjoying the absolutely gorgeous weather. We weren't rushed out of there even though we were done eating. Overall great experience....highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scrappermom1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Casual Dining Outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

A nice evening with friends, Ed and Connie, long time LaJolla residents. One of the best brick pizza ovens in the area. A wonderful meal of crisp salad and pizza. The outdoor setting was perfect. Lunch or dinner....stop in here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelers31024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
“Stingy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice outdoor patio but for the price pretty stingy with the food. Average food but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaJollaDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbarella Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Barbarella Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing