We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their burgers”
Review of Islands Restaurant

Islands Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love their burgers”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really enjoy their hamburger or turkey burger. Good service lots of food and fries. Fun place to go with friends for lunch. Always walked out happy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoofmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I come to Islands with my coworkers about once a week for lunch because of the great food and service. The lunch prices are very reasonable and Brenton, our server, takes great care of us. The unlimited fries are delicious (they usually bring us out a basket first), but try not to let the fries fill you up too much before your burger etc comes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“TERMITES SWARMED OUR TABLE DURING OUR MEAL!!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The service was good and the food just ok. The problem was the TERMITES which swarmed our table during our meal. One flew into my hair and another in my shirt. I told our server that we would have to move tables and he said "oh, the termites are back" and had no other reaction to what occurred. We did move tables. The waitstaff just sprayed down the windowsill and the booth which were both infested with the flying termites and then sat another party at this same station with termites still flying around. The manager did apologize and did comp my meal, but it seemed as though it was just damage control and nothing else. I really do not know how they have an "A" health department rating. Somebody at the health department is obviously not doing their job if an establishment like this gets an "A". Simply disgusting!!! Will NEVER go to another Islands again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommyto5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Onion Rings”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We discovered Islands while visiting UC San Diego. While the burgers are decent, it's the onion rings that are great! If you get a burger, the onion rings or fries are all you can get. Good place to get a quick bite with fun surf style atmosphere near the UC San Diego campus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaglebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Place, Easy Eating”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is great because the service isn't necessarily the best, but the fact that it is consistently good. Also, their food is always tasteful (depending location) and I always enjoy the service and food I receive from this location

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ERIC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing