We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean, calm, cosy hotel at a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
danderyd, sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming, clean, calm, cosy hotel at a perfect location”
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stay at this charrming little hotel a few weeks in February every year - for business and leisure. ( My husband is collaborating in medical resarch with collegues at UCSD.)
The hotel is located close to Windansea beach, where you may enjoy big waves ( if surfing) and o beautiful sunset . It is a nice area with beautiful houses and gardens. We love to go for long walks along the beach and along the small roads passing these various houses, some of them very old, some modern.. The hotel has a nice heated pool and a spa, a perfect way to start and finish your day..The staff is always triendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nice. We always stay in a big room with kitchenette that functions to us as a small apartment. The room even has a small safe. My husband is working at the computer part of the time and this type of room is perfect for that. The hotel serves a good breakfast wiht bagels, cream cheese, muffins, juice, fruit and cereal with milk and fruit and of course good coffee ( with nut or vanilla cream )..
The hotel also has a nice washing-machine and drier in the pool area.
Just opposite the hotel you can have o great lunch at Mandarin house (chinese) för 8 dollars.. In early evening you can enjoy a good drink for 3 dollars at Su Casa (a Mexican restaurant )next door and they also serve good appetizers
They serve lovely fresh fish sandwiches at Fish market. not far away. In La Jolla there are a number of very good restaurants. Among our favourites are NineTen, Crab Catcher,
Clay´s and Vigilucci.. Look out for their "happy hour" specials.. You may have a lovely gourmet meal for 10-15 dollars at certain hours. The museum of Contemporary Art in La Jolla is a great place to visit with exciting exhibits in the beautiful building close to the ocean. There are also a number of interesting art galleries. Scripps Marinebiological Museum is not far away, close to th UCSD. Vast sandy beaches at La Jolla Shores is within a mile from the hotel.
When you have explored La Jolla, San Diego is not far away.. There is even a bus going to the old town just outside the hotel.
We can highly recommend this hotel both for business and for leisure! It is a place you really want to return to. . Every year we meet others from various parts of the world who seem to think the same, as they return..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birgittawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    421
    103
    40
    20
See reviews for
337
388
90
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The bathroom shower was a bit mildewy, but otherwise the room seemed clean, with basic amenities (fridge, microwave, cable TV). After checking email and directions, we gave up on surfing the web, because the wifi was so slow. Our room had a king-sized bed and small table for two, where we ate our breakfast--danishes, bagels, and coffee. The fridge was very clean, good for storing fruit and sandwiches, but it froze and ruined our fresh spinach salad. Since the walls are thin, we heard a lot of noise from the neighbors upstairs. Also, parking was annoying, as spaces are tight and limited. Unlike the stereotypical California beach with sandy shores, Windansea Beach featured mostly rocky shores and the waves were rather noisy, but probably great for surfing. The Travelodge location was great, in a quiet neighborhood relatively close to UCSD (~15 min away), as one of us was attending a conference there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passiflorabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

GREAT value. La Jolla is a very expensive (and beautiful) area and this is a wonderful place to stay near one of the prettiest beaches in SoCal. The hotel is not new, not ON the beach, and it is not fancy. But it is clean, reasonably priced, and has everything that you need for a great stay: Fridge, microwave, in-room safe, laundry, hassle free wifi, parking, hot tub, pool, and a very helpful staff (especially Danny at the front desk). It is much nicer than the more expensive hotels in this class down the road in PB. I stay here every time I come back to La Jolla and don't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

In Summary: Great price, great location, good service, clean, BUT SMELLY.

The Good:
We accidentally booked our hotel online for the wrong day. Fortunately, the hotel had one room left which was just being cleaned when we arrived. The original price was more than double what we would have paid online so after frowning a bit, they lowered it to the online price.

The Bad:
The room smelled like BO. It was clean, so maybe it was just the guy who cleaned the room right before we got in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobelsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We were able to walk in and book a great rate after leaving a loud hotel in Pacific Beach. The hotel is clean and peaceful. We had a second floor room that even had a peek of the ocean. The room was large and included a partial kitchen. We wish that we had booked this hotel from the beginning and have already talked about staying here for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacbuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you're looking for a simple place to stay, this is your hotel. I had to be in La Jolla for a conference, otherwise I would not probably recommend staying in La Jolla. I think it's sort of past it's prime.

The hotel was nice enough. Nothing special except free wifi and a close walk to the beach. There are no facilites if you need anything business-wise done here, so take that into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We spent there 4 nights. There room was smelly and dirty: we had a dirty fork and napkin next to our bed when we arrived and noticed that the cleaning lady would only do the bed and would not clean anything else in the room. Also she would knock on our door every moring at 9am (waking us up) to check if she could do the room. Breakfast consists is average and unfortunately you have to take it standing up, in the middle of the reception area as there are no chairs or tables. Finally, when we checked out, around 10% was added to our bill for taxes - we ha booked through a major online provider. when we asked for explanation the staff (a rude girl called Olga) laught at us and said that probably we had never travelled before as there are extra taxed everywhere in the USA (we were coming from 2 wks in california and this was the first place where this happened. On the positive side, they have a small but nice hot spa an free parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musiquedenuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Property: La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing