We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you enjoy a classic 50's style while on a road trip, this is it. Clean, comfortable and very friendly!
The value for the area is fantastic. The penthouse has a private patio, a view of the ocean and a private staircase to the pool and spa. An easy walk to the beach. This is not an overdone high buck place but it is a very nice classic and clean place. Nice updates like the flat screen tv, good quality bedding make me want to return. A mid century classic!

Room Tip: Get the penthouse. Private patio and a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

A 50’s style classic! What a great description! We do feel like La Jolla Beach Travelodge is aging gracefully adding those little improvements like a spa and a heated pool that make the hotel more elegant. We did preserve the Hwy 101 spirit, so get in the car and you have a place to stay in La Jolla while you are on your road trip. You are sure to be welcomed by our friendly staff with a clean comfortable room with modern ACs and heating units, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, lighted makeup mirrors, hairdryers, and kitchenette facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ever time i go to S.D. for r/r I always stay here. It is clean, very close to the beach, great little
places to dine (Just love "the promiscious fork:) and few other places. If i had two things to
share with I would like to see is. 1) Fresher smelling rooms (air freshners) 2) When housecleaning cleans the toilet from the previous occupants, put the paper over the seat that
show the toilet was cleaned (hopefully you know what that means. 3) Lastly. Your GM Danny
is excellent, I really enjoy his personality and he is always helpful. However, the young lady
who is usually in the morning shift can be more friendlier. I highly recommend she attends some
customer service training and smile more. Other than that, my only place to stay over the last 13 years. Thanks also for the great rates

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for always staying here for the last 13 years. It’s a great reward for all our efforts. We appreciate all your observations and advice. We can learn a lot from looking at ourselves with the eyes of the return guest. All our front desk people attend regular trainings. We believe that if the training is right it boosts motivation and contributes greatly to the person’s performance.

We try to air the rooms out naturally and to use fans and ozone machines rather than to spray air fresheners. Some people are allergic on chemicals and many of our guests prefer not to have their rooms sprayed. We have air fresheners available at the front desk for the guests to use. Also by request the housekeepers will spray the room every time they clean it.

We used to put a paper liner on the toilet seat years ago but no longer. It was a strip of paper that went around the seat and cover. It didn’t mean the toilet was clean because someone could lift the cover and seat and use the toilet. We just follow the Travelodge standards and make sure the toilet is properly cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked our stay here after reading many glowing reviews, and we were not disappointed. The entire staff is friendly, courteous, and eager to please. The room was comfortable and included a table and two chairs, a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It had everything we could need, as there were several electrical outlets in the room and plenty of lighting in both the sleeping room and the bathroom. The continental breakfast, with bagels/cream cheese, pastries, cereal, and fruit, was generous. The property itself is well maintained and lovingly cared for. The location is terrific, too. The beach is just a short walk away. Plenty of interesting shops and restaurants, as well as a supermarket, are nearby. Downtown San Diego is less than 30 minutes away. This motel has it all, and we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueskies125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review! Everyone who works here: the housekeepers, the maintenance, front desk personnel and the management sincerely love La Jolla Beach Travelodge. The hotel is close to the beach, to La Jolla Village, UCSD, Torrey Pines, La Jolla Shores, and many other popular places. The hotel has everything a person needs at a home away from home: Free Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, laundry facilities, heated pool, Jacuzzi, Cable TV and a clean comfortable bed and bathroom. We do everything we can so that all of our guests feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible. For these reasons we have many loyal guests who will only stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge when they visit San Diego. We are grateful for the exposure we get on Tripadvisor because it brings us new many new guests that will quickly become new friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
SOLDOTNA
1
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very clean and staff is friendly...I really enjoyed the oranges on the breakfast every morning. Pool is warm and hot tub even better. The Wind an Sea beach a block away has really white sand but we went to La Jolla Shores Drive to play in the water, anyways, since thats where the rental places are. Very good value. Older motel but kept up as well as anyone could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. We get a lot of compliments on the fresh fruit we serve during our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer fresh apples and oranges, a variety of pastries that are delivered daily from the local bakery, assorted bagels with the choice of cream cheese and jelly, oatmeal, cereal with milk, freshly brewed coffee, black and herbal teas, orange juice and hot chocolate.

La Jolla Beach Travelodge is a perfect place to stay if you are here to enjoy the ocean. We are really close to many beautiful local beaches. It’s less than 300 yards to the WindanSea Beach. The Children’s pool, where the seals are, is a mile north. La Jolla Cove, one of the most photographed beaches in Southern California is about one and a half miles. We are about 3 miles from La Jolla Shores and Pacific Beach. The front desk staff is always happy to help with recommendations, directions, local information and any other assistance that a guest might need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SUSAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SuziQVictorville
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank ALEXANDER K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $87 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing