We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Pets!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Jolla Village Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for Pets!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We travel to La Jolla every July 4th with our two dogs and have stayed here the last three years. The location is perfect (walking distance to everything). They also do not charge a large pet deposit. It's a family owned and if you are looking for a clean place to sleep then this is it. It's not the Hilton, but the rooms are made up of a collection of IKEA furntiture. If you are traveling with pets, I recommend it. The owners throw a big party on the 4th! They always make us feel at home. I did a ton of research and it is by far the best place to stay in SD with pets.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Disliked — building is a little older
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
27
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

A girlfriend and I wanted to get out of town for a couple of days. Neither one of us wanted to spend a bunch of money but because it was "Easter Week" prices were unusually high everywhere I checked. The La Jolla Village Lodge is in an excellent location only 2 short blocks from the main street and the price averaged $150/night with 2 double beds and included free parking. We requested a room on the 2nd level (hoping it would be more quiet). The beds were reasonably comfortable, the rooms clean although a bit small. The rooms also contained a small refrigerator and a microwave although we didn't need them and didn't use them. The shower was quite good although the bathroom was pretty old and dated. We didn't need A/C but there was the standard box A/C in the wall by the window and door. We did turn the fan on at night which brought in fresh air --although it did rattle quite a bit. The price also included coffee in the morning along with good orange juice and small danishes and rolls. Overall we were very happy with our stay. All the money we saved by not spending it on a more expensive hotel room we used to eat in all the great restaurants in La Jolla. Just be very aware that this is not a Sheraton--it is a motor motel and it looks like it too. If small, old bathrooms freak you out then don't stay here. But if you don't mind funky and want to save a bit by staying in a decent place then you might want to try this motel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kg92253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

I definitely cannot agree with the other reviews. The Lodge is pretty rundown with dark rooms that clearly have seen better days. I think you can get much better deals for your money if you look around or book via the internet...

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

stayed - clean room - bedrooms seem updated - a massage chair in the room -- flat screen tv -- nice comfy bed ... bathrooms are a little beat --- window particularly (no screen) -- EXTREMELY friendly folks running the place -- some more fixes and it would be truly excellent -- free parking was very very nice & we could walk everywhere -- reasonable place and reasonable price for an expensive city

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Husband and I stayed in a queen room, 2nd floor. Location of the lodge is great, could park the car (free) and walk all over the village, to the beaches, etc. Check in was easy and quick, provided us with a map of the village, recommended streets to find shopping, restaurants, etc. Breakfast was worth skipping...a few assorted pastries, a couple of bagels, ran out of juice (which was warm and full of pulp anyway...) but was nice of them to make the effort. Just skip it and walk a block or two to a little cafe instead. Furniture in the room was very retro, pretty cool. Bed was comfy, although very springy-bouncey.

Our room had a coffee maker (coffee packet was not replenished on second day, husband went to lobby to get more), microwave and small frig, which were all unplugged and we did not use, frig did have an odor although it was clean. Room was very clean, but still had a musty odor, fixtures were all old and original. Small stand up shower, small bathroom. If you are someone that needs a large bathroom with vanity, etc., this wouldn't work for you. There is a counter in the room, but the microwave and coffee maker sit on it. Some things were broken, cracked, etc. Window in bathroom had broken handle, so we were unable to close it, no screen.

Overall it was an ok stay, considering we were hardly in the room. La Jolla is a neat little town with some great looking hotels and inns, we'll probably try another one next time.

  • Liked — Location/walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — A little too worn, time to start fixing/replacing fixtures.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KayJay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

...then the La Jolla Village Lodge could be the place for you. The location is great. Just a short walk to the cove and very fine restaurants.

But as much as one of the owners, Egon, brags about how much the property is worth, he has seemingly done little to invest in it over the years other than to buy some shabby -- possibly second-hand -- patio furniture to put on the rooftop deck.

The chairs in my room were threadbare. The main light in the room took about 3 minutes to "warm up" and give off light. Upon check-in the shower stall walls were covered with errant hairs. The floor of the shower had visible dirt and the fixtures were rusted and covered with mineral deposits.

The owners are kind but if you are averse to hippies and their carefree and flaky mindset you best stay away if you get my drift.

I was locked out my room twice because my key was deactivated. No apology the first time. The second time, Egon wrapped my card key in tin foil to prevent it from becoming "deactivated" (not kidding). Would that happen at a Marriot or even a Motel 6?

Egon admitted the rough edges but when they build one upon another (there was also a broken tv remote that needed two repair calls to fix) they can be aggravating -- especially when the owners make no apologies for them and insist that the dirt on the shower floor is "encapsulized".

Excellent continental breakfast provided.

Bottom line is that if you pay over $180 a night for this place, you are not going to get value for your money. Shell out some extra and get thee to a nice boutique hotel.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Shabbiness, weird vibe from staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EstesKrenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

We (my husband, my 8 year old daughter, amd myself) stayeds at La Jolla Village Lodge Friday-Sunday, 7/20-7/22/07 and had a wonderful experience. The staff at La Jolla are very helpful and friendly. The owners actually come out to the property and take the time to talk to you. They also have two sweet, loving pets at La Jolla Village Lodge. You cannot find more caring individuals as Maureen, Egon, and April. They are also proud sponsors of the Junior Olympics Acrobatics Gymnastics. I cannot say enough wonderful things about my stay at La Jolla Village Lodge. My only complaint is that my stay was too short. I hope to make another trip to La Jolla and stay several days more. Thank you La Jolla Village Lodge for a memorable experience.

  • Liked — location and great customer service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA-USAA-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Property: La Jolla Village Lodge
Address: 1141 Silverado Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Jolla Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing