We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Total Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Village Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, MA
112
Reviewed August 3, 2003

I have stayed here twice - summer of 2002 and 2003.

The owners are awesome. Very friendly and helpful. I had booked a hotel at a different location and a cheaper rate - online - and it was a big mistake.

I this place up and asked if they had anythign available. They did. I had no credit card, but my name was still in their reservation database. He reserved the room for me and told I could pay it when I got there. THAT WAS AWESOME.

They have a nice little complimentary breakfast and a free newspaper everyday. You can walk to La Jolla, no problem. There are places to eat everywhere, Starbuck's, ice cream... Perfect location. For those without a car, you are right on the 34 busline that brings you to DT San Diego and Pacific Beach, as well as north to UCSD and the connecting bus to North County.

This isn't a Ramada. The rooms are very basic, but ALWAYS clean. It is an older hotel, that has been nicely maintaned, and the rooftop deck is nice.

If you are looking for a place to serve as ground zero as you explore the city or hit the beaches, you will save a lot of money here.
Finally, this is an incredibly safe area, and you just can NOT put a price on feeling safe.

GREAT JOB TO THE OWNERS AND MANAGERS HERE. I WILL BE BACK!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 87 of 87 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bethesda, MD
127
Reviewed October 27, 2002

We arrived early in the morning, exhausted from our travels. We were greeted by a lovely lady named Karen, who showed us to our rooms, fed us breakfast and gave treats to our kids! The rooms are really nice and the costs were quite reasonable. The quiet location is only a couple of blocks from famous La Jolla Cove Beach, where the kids saw seals closeup for the first time.
We had lunch at a cool microbrewery, visited the modern art museum just down the street, and window-shopped to our heart's content before seeing a gorgeous beach sunset while we BBQ'ed on the third floor hotel sundeck. We met two young surfer girls who were staying at the lodge that first evening and invited them to dinner. They fell in love with our two kids and gave them beginner's surfing lessons the next day under the watchful gaze of the Lifeguard.
We stayed at this quiet, friendly motor lodge for three days and never even had to start our car because everything in La Jolla was in easy walking distance. The hotel staff saw to all of our needs and offered knowledgeable advice on what to see and where to eat, etc.
We are coming back to this place next year to see our new friends at the La Jolla Village Lodge.

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MassimoCarluccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.0 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Address: 1141 Silverado St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $120 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your La Jolla Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing