We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torrey Pines very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Called the hotel and received a good deal --- free breakfast, free parking, taxes included. Overall, a good deal. Stayed July 1 - July 8 with my young daughters.

Had a room overlooking the courtyard. Asked for bright room and they gave us one on the 4th floor. Not dim at all. Service was excellent. In room late dinner was short one glass --- we ordered two entrees. The server ran back downstairs and brought us a third glass. Almost all who worked a the hotel were very nice and professional.

The room was very nice. Large (520 sq. ft.) and very clean. Two excellent cleanings per day. Had a nice balcony. Nice big bathroom. Big tub for baths.

Pool was excellent with saline instead of chlorine and underwater music.

Golf looked to be magnificent.

Parking spots a bit small and tight.

Visited downtown San Diego (near the Omni) and were very glad to be close to La Jolla instead. Moreover, nothing was far away. Just get on I-5 to reach sites very quickly. Also close to Del Mar. We rented a GPS which made driving a snap. (Avis gave us a nasty, old car.)

Fireworks in La Jolla were spectacular. So was the food. George's Ocean Terrace was spectacular and reasonable. Trattoria Aqua had great seafood with pasta. Prado good but not spectacular. McCormick's very good. Centio better than expected. Did not try hotel's main restaurant. (We had breakfasts in the Golf Cafe.) Great cold drinks everywhere. Incredible al fresco dining in La Jolla.

The Zoo is incredible ---- both the animals and rare trees. SeaWorld very good but pricy --- Cirque better than expected. Balboa Park is superb. We saw the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit. Gaslamp District looked touristy.

Don't miss La Jolla. It's heaven on earth. (Retire there if you can.) Want a cheaper stay near La Jolla and attractions? Try the nearby Hyatt Regency. Not as nice but reasonable when conventions not scheduled. Nice lobby.

The Lodge is worth the money. Great location. A golfer's dream.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank akula1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Lodge three nights over the Memorial Day Weekend. The property was beautiful and convenient to everything we wanted to do. The staff, except for one glaring conceirge, was gracious and accomodating.

By far the most concerning element was the Conceirge service. In particular - Elisa. She was down right rude and insulting to us. She could not have been less interested in helping us. She literally argued with us about the car service into Del Mar/La Jolla. We checked for Saturday night upon our arrival on Friday around 1 -- she could not accomodate us and would not make other arrangements or add us if there was a cancellation. I could accept that the car was booked but her attitude and rudeness were unacceptible. I certainly do not expect to be treated like this in a five start property especially by a conceirge.

The Spa was average-- relaxation room was co-ed which did not enhance my feeling of relaxing! It was also rather crowded and people were tranpsing through the whole time so not calm by any means. My facial was very relaxing and restorative. The pedicure (calming sea) was sub par at best. Certainly not a "facial for the feet" as it's billed. The technician seemed like she was rushing through the experience and I was the first appointment of the day and arrived 5 minutes early.

Restaurant - AR Valentin was very good. Nice fresh ingredients that were well prepared although it was expensive but worth it.

Pool is very nice with great views and helpful attendants. We were able to get a cabana on our pool afternoon.

Overall, we had such an enjoyable visit that we're planning on returning soon. Unfortunately, I'll have to use our Amex concierge instead of The Lodge's.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Movin4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

The Lodge at Torrey Pines was a class act all the way. From our arrival throughout our five day stay, the staff were incredibly friendly,courteous and helpful. The property was beautiful and wonderfully maintained. Very large room overlooking the courtyard with balcony was lovely. The entire property carried out the theme of a very classy lodge with its arts and crafts style furniture and stained glass lamps throughout. Fireplace going on cool days in the lovely lobby. About a ten minute drive to the village of La Jolla, set in a beautiful location with the ocean in the distance, next to the Torrey Pines Golf Course and Torrey Pines Nature Preserve.
Ask for the special that includes breakfast, all taxes and parking.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _eiffeltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Overall a great hotel. The lobby was nice, the pool area was nice, the scenery is hard to beat. The hotel overlooks the Torrey Pines golf course and the Pacific ocean. The rooms are very nice, comfy bed, nice furniture and balcony/patio. The only thing I would recommend the hotel change is to upgrade the shower. The shower was a tub with a cheap shower curtain. If they can't upgrade to the nicer glass shower doors, then atleast go for a nicer curtain (french terry cloth). Room service was fast and a nice meal. The staff was very nice and courteous. The Grill was great, I ordered a sloppy joe for lunch and it was very good. Breakfast was great as well. Our friends ate at the pool patio and were not happy at all with their lunch (tiny portions, $$$), but were very happy with the Grill. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank rwctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

The Lodge at Torrey Pines was the place we have been searching for...excellent attention to detail, excellent customer service, respectful and attentive staff, clean/neat rooms, well furnished/appointed rooms, quality linen and bath towels, restaurants with experienced and informed staff, excellent food & portion sizes.
The atmosphere is casual and relaxed, but guests seem to be quiet in nature and respectful of others. Many age ranges, couples and families, and some where in on business.
What I liked was that even when the weather became colder and cloudy, the atmosphere of the Lodge makes it nice to be cozy and stay inside The Lodge.
The charming characteristics of La Jolla make it fun to leave the Lodge and visit a variety of boutiques and shops, excellent restaurants and cafes, walks by the water, or partaking in many activities like kayaking, snorkeling, surfing, etc.

Our first time at The Lodge was perfect...we were well treated and would have been happy to stay longer, we're looking forward to returning, and are considering bringing friends and/or family to enjoy The Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaQuinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

This hotel is everything one hopes for. It is a beautiful property, the rooms are great, the staff is friendly and accommodating. It is truly a 5 star hotel. I surprised my husband with a romantic weekend getaway here and he loved it. Everything was perfect!! If you are looking for a hotel in the San Diego area, it doesn't get any better than this. It is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BriSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We recently spent a long weekend at the Lodge. Initially, I was a bit disappointed in the room - while spacious, it is most definitely not opulent and I was expecting a bit more for the price. However, the rooms are spacious, with quality furnishings (love the comfy leather chair!), and very keeping in the arts-and-crafts style. The lodge property is gorgeous, and has a very northern CA atmosphere (the foggy and chilly weather helped, too). The architecture of the hotel is stunning, and reminded me of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The hotel is on the smaller side, or at least that is how it felt - very cozy and personable. We were greeted with gifts in our room each evening - from delicious chocolate to teas to a lovely bookmark.
Though outside of town, it was still only a short, easy drive to downtown San Diego, and convenient to La Jolla village and Del Mar.

The spa is very nice, though not particularly large. They have a steam, sauna, and "aromatherapy" cool room. I saw few other guests during my visits. Accessing the spa was much easier than I've experienced at other resorts - it's open until 8pm and there is no sign-in/out or usage fee. We were also told one evening that if we wanted to stay later than 8, that it would be no problem. My husband and I both noticed that the sauna was never quite as hot as we expected over our few visits, but didn't detract from our experience - we just skipped the sauna.

The friendliness, hospitality and courtesy of the staff may be the best I've experienced. We were always warmly greeted by all staff we encountered. The concierge's recommendations were perfect, spa staff unobtrusive. The restaurant staff recalled our prior day's orders; at check-out we were given cold bottled water for the drive back to the airport.

We had a wonderful, relaxing visit, and would definitely return and recommend this to others. We stayed at the St. Regis Monarch Beach a few years ago, and while that property is more luxurious and larger, the staff did not compare to the Lodge. We definitely felt more welcome at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank svetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,057 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $380 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing