We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Cares If We Don't Golf?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are not golfers (and people who golf will probably have to be evicted in order to leave), but that made no difference to us. The accommodations are very comfortable and pleasant. Staff are as courteous and friendly as could be; the concierge staff were particularly helpful and patient. The nearby hiking in Torrey Pines Preserve is a real plus. There a nice sized-pool and jacuzzi; the fitness room was well-equipped; the craftsman style throughout was tasteful and reminiscent of the best in Pasadena; the business center was convenient with updated equipment. The Torrey Pines area is great location for quiet relaxation; we have been to La Valencia in the heart of La Jolla and if you want night life that might be for you. Come here to get away from that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary for 2 nights last week at The Lodge and could not have been happier. This is a beautiful craftsman inspired hotel. Fantastic service, a perfect meal at AR Valentein, a lovely room with lush garden courtyard patio, and time relaxing at the pool and spa overlooking the PGA golf course were among the highlights. The concierge helped us with a hiking route in the state reserve which was walking distance from the hotel. We parked the car on arrival day and didn't see it again until we left- just enjoyed the property and wanted to stay. Exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dani91024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This August we spent 5 nights at the Lodge. My son and husband wanted golf and I wanted to relax and use the fitness center. Everyone got what they wanted! Lovely golf, a spacious fitness center, friendly staff, large room and even better food. Can you imagine a pool whose food is so good you look forward to ordering a sandwich? Yes!

Did I mention free car service to local restaurants (first come first served), great concierge suggestions (thanks Brett), lovely location and beautifully maintained lodge? Lives up to its reputation, unlike the other hotels we stayed at on this 12 day trip.

Room Tip: We loved our ocean facing room You actually look out over the golf course with the ocean in the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My daughter wanted to stay near the Torrey Pines golf course as a special excursion when visiting in July as she is a golf enthusiast. We stayed 1 night and were so charmed, we never left the property until it was time to check out. The Craftsman decor, service, location on the edge of the Pacific left no perfect detail undone. I have never encountered such service. We had delicious meals at the restaurants, the scenery was beautiful, but most charming to me was the beautiful Craftsman room, large, full of Tiffany style lamps (as was the rest of the Lodge) the bathroom was sumptuous Willliam Morris design. In a word, I was in heaven and I'm not that interested in golf.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank humbleprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just spent the weekend at The Lodge at Torrey Pines with my family and our dear friends to celebrate my birthday and their sons birthday. The trip was expertly organized by the birthday boy's mom who we lovingly refer to as "the cruise director". She (with the help of our travel agent) had the weekend set up to be a lovely, delicious, relaxing and fun trip! Here's a quick list of what was great, and what was not.

PROS:
- beautiful front entry
- great view from the jacuzzi
- cozy bar
- free cabanas for a fun day at the pool
- at least one nice pool attendant
- pretty good message therapists

CONS:
- rooms in the "annex" look like a souped up Best Western (room 533 specifically)
- no separate tub and shower and only one sink
- tiny balcony with no space to enjoy a room service breakfast
- uncomfortable beds with only 3 lumpy pillows
- completely incompetent concierge
- complimentary car service will take you to dinner and then cancel your return trip while you are eating
- "complementary shuttle service" is one car that seats up to four (if you cram it in) and reservations have to be made well in advance
- at least one pool attendant acts like you are asking for the moon if you come to the pool at 10:30 in the morning to find no towels and ask if there are any.
- $18 for a mediocre mimosa
- ants crawling on the outdoor tables at The Grill (and wait staff who don't really care)
- beach IS NOT easily accessible because the shortest hike is 1.5 miles and the shuttle service is not really meant to take you down to the beach.

Fortunately, we managed to have a great time anyway because the company couldn't have been more perfect and really, we can have fun just about anywhere.

Unfortunately, all of our "cruise director's" advanced planning was wasted because of the incompetent concierge service. The complimentary shuttle service that they advertise, is just one car shared by all hotel guests for which you must make a reservation. They did not tell her that. The easily accessible beach is a a mile down the road and then a half mile hike down a cliff, or a 2.5 mile walk down the road - and then back, because the "shuttle service" is probably booked.

Another disappointing aspect of the trip was the uneven service at the grill and poolside. The outdoor tables at the Grill were covered in ants. When we pointed this out to our server, she stood their dumbly and said "oh, really" with a surprised look on her face. Did she move us? No. Since we had already moved once to escape the ants, we decided to stick it out and hope that the food in the crevices of the table would keep them happy enough to stay off of our plates.

At the pool on Sunday morning at 10:35, there were no towels. When we asked the pool attendant he looked at us like we were asking him to throw rose petals at our feet and said (and I quote) "I'll see if we have any". He then proceeded to treat us like irritating children for the rest of our visit at the pool.

However, we had a lovely experience with one pool attendant with short blond hair. She went OUT of her way to make sure we were comfortable, was genuinely kind and really, exactly what one would expect from a hotel advertised as 5 star. Definitely management material. I wish I knew her name so that I could send her a great review directly.

The food was fine, but nothing special. We paid $395 a night for a double (two queens room 533) in the annex - the part of the hotel where you have to leave the main building and head out to the parking. Fortunately, they have loaded the courtyard with large pine trees so you don't see the cars too much. Unfortunately, you kind of feel like you're at a souped up Best Western by the time you get out there. Tub and shower are combined. Only one sink. Tiny TV. No place to have room service in the room and definitely not on the tiny balcony.

All in all I'd say there are much better for the money in the near vicinity.

Room Tip: make sure you are in the main building! The rooms above 529 were outside of the main building and fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Kendy_and_Kariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at Torrey Pines. The location worked well for us. The rooms were comfortable and exceptionally clean. A bit dark decor but that seems to be the theme of the lodge. I could not get reservations at the spa as it was a busy week but it looked amazing. Should have booked it ahead of time. I would give the staff 5 ++++ stars as everyone was amazing, and friendly to us. (Valet, restaurants, concierge, and desk staff were exceptional) Liked the Grill best for breakfast (loved the granola, blueberry pancakes). I am taking off the 5th star rating because I think the pool area could be better. The cushions were stained with bird droppings and sap. Got sap all over my arm and hands from the lounge chair, IMPOSSIBLE to get off!!) The service at the pool was slow and the girls couldn't even figure out how to make a simple ice coffee. Took over 30 mins to get anything and we only had an hour at the pool to spend as our days were busy. The pool area was not busy, only a few people there when we were. The grounds are beautiful but the ocean view is blocked by the golf course. They wouldn't let us walk thru the golf course paths to take a walk by the ocean, had to go over to the torrey pines state park area. Overall, nice experience. Probably better if you play golf but am glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay. The service at the Lodge is outstanding. Every member of the staff we talked to was courteous and extremely helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located and perfect if you are playing golf at Torrey Pines as we did. It also was a quick trip north to play courses in Carlsbad, or south to San Diego for dinning or other activities.

The food at the lodge was exceptional. Dinner at A.R. Valentien was excellent and a great value. The breakfast on the outdoor deck was fantastic, with some very unique items. (lemon chiffon pancakes, and short-ribs on grits) For a very casual meal The Grill by the putting green of the golf course was also good.

The only negative and it was not a big deal is the room we had was a little dark even with the curtains open and all the lights on. Also could have used a little more furniture as it was a large room. They were delivering new Keurig single cup coffee makers to the rooms on our last day, which was a nice addition to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fredbvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $380 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing