We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We wanted to stay at a hotel in La Jolla as we really enjoy this area. The Lodge is rated as the number 1 hotel in La Jolla and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed. We stayed for 8 nights in a Palisades room (Room 421) with 2 queen beds and a balcony facing the 18th green of the south course and the ocean. Another reviewer indicated that the room did not cool down. That was not our experience. The A/C worked well and the room was never too hot. The room was very quiet as was the A/C unit. The staff is very courteous, friendly and accommodating.

We ate at both the Grill (casual) and AR Valentien (fine dining). The food is delicious and all the servers are well acquainted with the menu.

We golfed both the north and south course at Torrey Pines. We booked the tee times through the Lodge for a guaranteed tee time as Torrey Pines golf course is a municipal course which offers preferred access to local residents. Both courses are beautifully groomed with amazing views of the ocean from some holes. Definitely worth the experience.

The spa is very well appointed with excellent services.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and are definitely looking forward to staying here in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the above the second floor. Second floor is where the lobby is located and the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    160
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
200
377
23
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel rings all the bells for the golfer who wants a great golf getaway and needs to satisfy a skeptical wife that she will enjoy herself while he hits the links. Anyone who knows golf knows golf is aware if the two Torrey pines courses, but you might not realize that they are literally outside the doors if this lodge. The hotel is laid back luxury in an arts and crafts decor. The spa is world class so high can send your lady there while you enjoy the course and not experience an ounce if guilt about who is enjoying things more. The restaurants are great and there is a beautiful outdoor terrace to soak up the sun and the views. And La Jolla is a very short drive from the hotel.
Beware the Palisades rooms, though. The two times I stayed in them I have been disappointed that the afternoon sun heats the room up and the A/C will NOT cool the room down for comfortable sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I spent two days at the Lodge earlier this week. The decor and service is superior. Everyone went out of their way to insure that our stay was comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and housekeeping does an excellent job of preparing the rooms. Unfortunately for the Lodge, but fortunate for us, the hotel was only about 30% full. That made the pool area very pleasant. The Grill, just outside the golf shop, was excellent for breakfast. The grounds of the hotel are very restful and beautiful. We will definitely be back for another visit and will plan to spend more time relaxing around the pool and less time site seeing. Absolutely recommend the Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the lodge with our two children, 10 and 12. The overall experience was excellent. The service was excellent, with a strong effort from many of the staff to know your name and provide assistance whenever possible. The rooms, including the balconies, are large and comfortable. Amenities are very nice. The views of the ocean and golf course were just spectacular. Our children really enjoyed playing on the lawn, especially with the croquet set. The pool was very nice, with a nice view of the course and ocean from the hot tub. The food was excellent, especially at AR Valentien. The only suggestion is to have more food options for kids and teens at the hotel in general. I highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room view. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Room 538 is a spacious Signature room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the gardens. We checked in Saturday afternoon and from our balcony I could see a wedding party taking pictures in a nearby grassy area. The balcony was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and the cool breeze. Loved the plush bath towels but didn't care to see bathroom scale on the floor as the big closet mirror showed me how well I had been eating during this vacation. Also loved the TWO make up mirrors as I am extremely near sighted!

Didn't use the pool but the area was lovely with ample chairs and a few cabanas. Grounds next to the pool were gorgeous with the golf course steps away. Valet service was prompt, and the attendants were very courteous and friendly.

I highly recommend The Lodge - 2 thumbs up!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NosyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I did not stay at the Lodge at Torrey Pines but would love to in the future.

We went for drinks and dinner on the porch and watched the sunset over the golf course and Pacific. It was such a beautiful and quiet and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food delicious. A wonderful selection of wines was offered. The pool was lovely as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spend 3 days at The Lodge and loved it. Everything was perfect - service, facilities, appearance, rooms, beds, room service, breakfast at the Grill, the beautiful grounds. The Lodge is just wonderful!

My wife and I do not golf so no comments about that.

We are already planning our next visit.

The sole downside is the Spa is costly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing