We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the lodge with our two children, 10 and 12. The overall experience was excellent. The service was excellent, with a strong effort from many of the staff to know your name and provide assistance whenever possible. The rooms, including the balconies, are large and comfortable. Amenities are very nice. The views of the ocean and golf course were just spectacular. Our children really enjoyed playing on the lawn, especially with the croquet set. The pool was very nice, with a nice view of the course and ocean from the hot tub. The food was excellent, especially at AR Valentien. The only suggestion is to have more food options for kids and teens at the hotel in general. I highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room view. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    161
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
203
386
23
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Room 538 is a spacious Signature room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the gardens. We checked in Saturday afternoon and from our balcony I could see a wedding party taking pictures in a nearby grassy area. The balcony was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and the cool breeze. Loved the plush bath towels but didn't care to see bathroom scale on the floor as the big closet mirror showed me how well I had been eating during this vacation. Also loved the TWO make up mirrors as I am extremely near sighted!

Didn't use the pool but the area was lovely with ample chairs and a few cabanas. Grounds next to the pool were gorgeous with the golf course steps away. Valet service was prompt, and the attendants were very courteous and friendly.

I highly recommend The Lodge - 2 thumbs up!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NosyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I did not stay at the Lodge at Torrey Pines but would love to in the future.

We went for drinks and dinner on the porch and watched the sunset over the golf course and Pacific. It was such a beautiful and quiet and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food delicious. A wonderful selection of wines was offered. The pool was lovely as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spend 3 days at The Lodge and loved it. Everything was perfect - service, facilities, appearance, rooms, beds, room service, breakfast at the Grill, the beautiful grounds. The Lodge is just wonderful!

My wife and I do not golf so no comments about that.

We are already planning our next visit.

The sole downside is the Spa is costly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a mini get away with my fiance and was blown away at the excellent service, great restaurants and beautiful grounds. The room was exceptional with a wonderful balcony to soak up the California sunshine and read or realx. The pool was a lovely place for lunch and there are many trails for hiking and great ocean viewing. Would totally recommend this place for a nice getaway and awsome golf.

Room Tip: Most all the suites are very large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MouskaKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

You will love the lodge at Torry Pines. This was the second time in five years that my company has held our President's Club event (at which we honor our top producers) at this property. We came back because everyone (about 20 - 25 of us) had such a wonderful experience last time.

We had the same wonderful experience this time. The property is a lovely, high-end, five-star resort right on the golf course at one of California's most picturesque spots. The restaurant is first rate and handled our banquet dinner superbly. My wife and I also had two lunches at the restaurant and though one was initially (only slightly) marred by a lapse in service (which the manager made amends for with grace and speed), the service overall was 5 star as was the food.

Though we like to mix up the locations of these events so that they do not become stale, everyone was glad that we returned and we will again after a few years have gone by.

This is a first rate property in all regards and we also feel it is good value.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I had business lunch there and the place has Scottish decoration to it. The lobster salad is delicious and view is beautiful. You have to book in advance to dine there. The price is excellent. Would go back for proper dinner next time if we are in the area. 30 mins without traffic from downtown San Diego.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank drsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing