We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for a family gathering!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for a family gathering!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We love this hotel. The decor is beautiful - warm and cozy. The the service is warm and polished and the food is excellent.

Though I'm a bit overdue in writing this, I wanted to share what a wonderful time we had at the lodge over Thanksgiving with our family. We had three rooms at the hotel for ourselves and our family members and all rooms had a view of the ocean. I mention this because the view really does make a difference in one's experience at the hotel. My husband and I had stayed there a few years ago and our room, though very nice, faced a courtyard. As as result, it was rather dark.

We all enjoyed outstanding massages in the spa - truly some of the best we've ever had! For each family member to have the same response really says something!

This is a wonderful place for a family gathering. It's elegant without being prissy. It's very comfortable and relaxing and we found it to be the perfect place to celebrate Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for a room with an ocean view. The view is beautiful and the room will feel brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    178
    63
    19
    9
See reviews for
229
428
27
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

wonderful stay my family just did on Saturday for my birthday. This was our first time staying here,and we loved it even more than fabulous Grand Del Mar nearby. We have spent many little stay-cations in La Jolla, as we live in Mission Viejo and used to go to grad school in Scripts Ranch area, so we are well familiar with resorts and hotels inn the area. The Lodge is our now favorite destination in the area.

The staff from Valet, to bell hops, concierge, front staff, restaurant , spa and housekeeping were all consistently friendly, attentive, and made us feel very welcomed and pampered. I did yoga in the courtyard and she was wonderful as well, giving me a very attentive and personal yoga class as it was just the two of us that day. Esther in the spa was the best massage ever.

Rooms were impeccable, roomy, gorgeous, fresh flowers in bathroom a lovely touch. Butler-like room service, with ice filled in the evening without even requesting. The "jet lag" complimentary tea was wonderful. Caught a beautiful sunset in the spa gazebo overlooking the La Jolla Coast.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the quiet Pine filled courtyard (my son thought it was like being in a tree ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines from Dec. 22-27 for a special birthday celebration. Everything about this hotel is first rate. Lovely rooms, large and spacious with a balcony overlooking trees and a large soaking tub. Turn down service every night with a special gift left on our pillow (candy, bath salts, etc.). I can't wait to stay there again. This made my birthday really special and memorable. The hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff was outstanding. I can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Arrive close to check-in time. Check in smooth. Gary, our bellman, took us to our room and described the property on the way. We were in one of the wings on the 4th floor. I wasn’t crazy about the location of the room, since it was the first room from the doorway. Plus, upon viewing the outdoor space, we were very close to the entrance of the hotel. But we were only here for two nights, so I decided just to deal with it.

We requested a fridge for some drinks and champange for New Years Eve. It was delivered promptly. Gary also came back with some ice. (although he made it a point to mention that he had to go to two different ice machines b/c the first one ran out. Not sure if he was hoping for another tip... we tipped him very well the first time around. ???)

Upon unpacking, I discovered some leftover trailmix and opened sugar packets in one of the drawers. Not good. We called the front desk and asked to be moved to another room. Gary came back promptly and we moved about 6 doors down. Much better location, IMHO. Room seemed brighter as well. I always bring lysol wipes with me and wipe down remotes, door handles, toilet flushers etc. (I’ve watched too many Dateline investigations, I guess) There is a little granite counter above the mini-bar and coffee station. On a whim, I wiped this down and coffee grounds and dried up coffee came up on the wipe. My husband discovered some hair on the bathroom floor. This sort of thing is unacceptable in any hotel - but especially one like Torrey Pines that prides itself on it’s top notch/high class reputation. I decided to take it up with management. Dan, the front desk manager assited me. He was very apologetic - didn’t question me at all - and agreed that this is not acceptable. He extended a $100 resort credit in order to put us in a “better place” as far as our first impressions were concerned. This was a kind gesture, and definitely helped us “move on”.

Now for the rest:
This resort is one of the nicest we’ve stayed in the U.S. It’s not too large - about 170 rooms. The attention to detail in the public spaces as well as the rooms is worth noting.

Although we planned on venturing out to La Jolla during our stay, we ended up spending our entire time on property.

Highlights:

Rooms -- aside from our initial experience, the room was very nice. We traveled with our two teenage sons. Two queen beds - high quality linens. Beds on the soft side, which was the only negative. Nice furnishings and lighting. Spacious bathroom. Large patio. We had a Signature Room and it was perfect for us.

Spa -- services were booked, but we used the steam, sauna and relaxation rooms. One of the nicer spas we’ve been to. Super, super clean - well maintained. All accutruments were available - from high-end hair & facial products (Skinceuticals) to flat irons, curling irons etc.

Pool area -- beautiful setting, well maintained. Comfortable lounge chairs. Cabanas free of charge (first come - first served)

Bar -- Plenty of seating and lounging areas. Try to get the spot in front of the fireplace. (the couches were always taken when we were there, but it’s such a nice spot) Great drinks, lovely wine selection. You can also sit on the outside porch - where they have several areas dedicated to bar patrons. Portable heaters make it warm and cozy.

Restaurants -- We dined at all the restaurants. Valentin for breakfast was sublime. The Grill for dinner (New Years Eve) was very good. We also had lunch out at the pool, which is considered “room service”. (I wasn’t overjoyed by the 20% surcharge for pool dining -- as this does not replace the tip)

All of our servers were attentive, knowledgable. You got the feeling that their top priority was making sure we had the best dining experience possible. Of particular was Amelia, who served us dinner out on the porch for our last night. We ordered from both the bar menu and the Valentin menu. She was so personable - a joy to talk to. Not intrusive - but she was on top of our every need.

Coming from the Chicago area, we chose to dine on the porch any chance we had. It’s a beautiful setting, amidst the Torrey Pines, overlooking the pool. There were no folks in the pool when we dined. If there were, I think this would be a distraction as it’s just below the deck. However, Valentin is a beautiful space - and I would like to sit inside during our next visit.

Overall, our experience was excellent. We completely forgot about those first 20 minutes between the two rooms. Everything about this property is top notch. We didn’t golf - but the course looks amazing. We hiked through the Torrey Pines reserve right next door and would highly recommend this. The trail was quite crowded, as it was New Years Day. But other times it is wide open.

I'm so happy we decided ring in the New Year at The Lodge at Torrey Pines.

Room Tip: We had a signature room and thought it was ample for our family of four. We were only in our rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a fabulous first class hotel with a fabulous location in La Jolla. Were we there for a long weekend for a wedding nearby. The service, food, and spa were excellent. There is a nice bar menu, and plenty of heaters for eating outside even on a cool January night. We did not play golf due to our own schedule, and the course was being prepped for the Farmer's Open so tee times were limited. Do check way in advance if you plan to golf. My only negative comment was that the spa only had a co-ed waiting area and no single sex area for relaxing and lingering after a treatment. A real plus is the great San Diego airport, new, clean, plenty of food and some outside check in for some airlines.

Room Tip: Great view facing the golf course, but it can get noisy from grounds keeping and the announcement of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights and I cannot fault anything at all with this superb hotel. The staff, food, rooms, spa and pool were all fantastic. Maybe a little way out of San Diego but we chose that and it didn't create any problems. I just love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines to celebrate my husband's birthday. We're San Diego locals who had previously dined at the resort's signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, and this time wanted to be able to enjoy the wonderful wine pairings and not have to drive home.
The first sign this was going to be great stay was the friendly bellman who obviously and sincerely loved the resort and was proud of his job. The staff were all friendly, helpful and caring.

We opted for a top floor, ocean view room and it is worth the upgrade. The room was large and well appointed with a balcony and ocean view. Of note, this is not a "beach resort", it is not on the sand, nor does it have a "beach resort" vibe. We did not make it into the spa, but the pool is large. The building is Craftsman style (it is relatively new, but looks like it could have been built in 1910). We don't golf, but enjoyed playing croquet, and exploring the grounds. The inner courtyard, which some reviewers consider a weed patch contains a naturalistic garden with many native plants. Just a short walk North of the resort is Torrey Pines State Park with hiking trails that you can hike down to the beach. The resort offered a complementary sunset nature hike, but we did not take it and instead explored on our own.

When I made our reservation I was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, and 1/2 bottle was chilled champagne greeted us as we opened the door to our room. What a nice surprise. My husband was so impressed! That's one the features I noticed about this resort, except for the extra charge for parking ($22/day self-park) they don't nickel-and-dime guests with lots of extra charges like some hotels: no resort fee, no charge in-room bottled water and even a choice of newspapers.

Overall, a high quality, luxury resort with a management and staff who obviously care.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
884 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing