We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A quick getaway weekend for our anniversary turned out to be the most relaxing weekend we have enjoyed in recent memory. The staff was attentive without being intrusive and were consistently going above and beyond our expectations. They provided maps for our excursions and excellent recommendations of things to do. Don't miss hiking the Torrey Pines State Reserve. It's within walking distance! We could not have asked for a better weekend. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Definitely spring for an golf view/ocean view room. Remember, you are situated some 200 feet above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lookin4thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    161
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
203
385
23
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the lodge and it was an experience I will never soon forget. I am a golfer and the fact that I just had to walk out the back and start playing golf was fantastic as was the golf courses. You cannot believe the spectacular views on the golf courses. The views were so great I couldn't concentrate on my game. The staff at the lodge were also great, extremely helpful, courteous and eager to please. I would not hesitate to return to this lodge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent 2 days of our vacation at this historic, mystical property. No detail has been left unattended, from the smell of a smoking wood fireplace at the entry to the music playing underwater in the pool - your sight, smell, touch and more will all be tickled when staying at this property. We enjoyed the lush foliage on the property, the sprawling ocean views, detailed architecture, amazing golf and flawless food.

Our standard room with two queen beds was of average size with a pine tree view was perfect for 2 days but might have been tight quarters for a week. It is a historic old hotel so there are your fair share of timber creaking and old elevators shifting about but nothing that was bothersome. It just added to the character of the place overall.

The crowd was a nice mix of families, couples and hard core golfers during our stay. We felt taken care of at every turn from the wonderfully helpful staff although you should be sure to make dinner reservations, even at the casual grill, if you plan on eating anytime between 4pm-10pm. Seating is limited and many people come to the property at night just to dine and enjoy the atmosphere from the surrounding areas. And make it a point to try the famous "Drugstore Burger" at some point during your stay - it lives up to all the hype!!

Experience the unbelievable views and a unique property at least once when you're in the area. It's worth a piece of the vacation budget!!

Room Tip: The hallways twist and turn so if you don't like stairs or walking too far, ask for a room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brashsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent the weekend of 9/20- 9/22 at the Lodge for our company retreat. This is the 4th year that I have planned this (La Quinta, Ojai Valley Inn and Spa, and The Grand Del Mar) and I must say that we had a wonderful. This review will be from the perspective of hosting a group event here. If you want just the summary...It is advertised as a 5 diamonds resort...I would not go as far as that. It is indeed a fantastic resort but not in the same level as The Grand Del Mar or Montage...more like Park Hyatt Aviara or Ojai Valley Inn.
Service: This definitely sets the true 5 diamonds apart from the other. The Lodge was great, just not FANTASTIC. Moira was our group event coordinator and she was great in following up and making the adjustments. I just didn't feel that she went out of her way to cater to our "event". For example, we almost went over our original number of contracted rooms. Typically, I thought the hotel would be happy and want more guests (inc revenue, inc F&B)...however she said that she wouldn't have enough rooms and would have to put us in another category room...no problem, but she would charge us the difference...c'mon, we will be spending $40,000 plus overall, couldn't you just give it to us at the standard rate??? Another minor issue...We had originally booked a connecting room...you would think they would have made that the priority since I was coordinating this group event...however, upon checkin in, they told me the best they could do was adjacent rooms...I said no way...so they looked further and found connecting rooms (WTH?) but it would be another 1-2 hr wait (at 3pm). I asked if their was a hospitality room that my family could use. They said "No" but we could change in the spa facility...Not what I expected... Their spa coordinator (Alli and Cheri) were fantastic. I couldn't tell you the number of times I had to add or change the spa reservations...they were great. Other services were also good. Including the captain for all of our events. They made sure everything was in order.
Location: Good. Right on the Torrey Pines golf course...I think this really enhances the resort and makes it more appealing. Being next to the main street wasn't a problem. There is a mall about 3 miles away. Great beach view, just not access. Also loved seeing the paragliders throughout the afternoon.
Hotel/rooms: The hotel itself still had a relatively new feel. Did not seem run down and is well cared for. Some might find its design fascinating. The lobby isn't the grandest, but had a really nice view of the ocean and golf course. The hotel itself is reportedly family friendly, however, base on the design and clientele, I probably would not bring my kids here. It is not really set up for kids and is really lacking in their amenities and the design of the hotel. There is no kids club. No kiddie pool. There is a croquet lawn that the kids can run around in...but other than that, nothing really else. The rooms itself was nicely decorated. It is a good size. But to my knowledge, non of the rooms had couches that pulled out (another neg for family friendly). The room had nice bathroom amenities, but not over the top. Wifi was complimentary but spotty. We did not have a view but did have a patio. 1 Fiji bottle of water was comp as was the daily paper. Beds were nice. My biggest issue with the room was the lighting. I like the room bright and I just couldn't achieve it with the lamps there. Maybe that was part of their decorating plan.
Pool/Facility: There is one large pool that ranged from 3-5 feet. The kids enjoyed it even though the weather was on the cooler side. IT was mildly heated. My biggest issue with the pool was that there is a large overhanging pine tree that made the pool pretty dirty by late afternoon. There were cabanas available on a first come first serve basis. Pool service seemed pretty fast. Another point to make about the non kid friendly status of this resort was the location of the jacuzzi. It was located quite far (elevated set up) from the pool and was pretty isolated. It was really nice (seats 7) and have a fantastic view of the golf course. This was perfect for adults to utilize, but not really for kids. The grounds were nicely kept and beautiful. But other than that, there was really not much else.
Restaurants: We had a nice dinner at the Grill. Make sure you make reservations and specify booth or not. The place can get packed around 6pm due to the golfers coming off the course. The outdoor patio did not have heaters so go prepared. The Lodge had one lounge as part of their restaurant. It offered both indoor and outdoor terrace seating. Nice place to hang out (we spent both nights out late on the terrace) and grab a drink. I was a tad disappointed that there was no nightly music entertainment on the weekend. I would have also liked it if they had a fire pit or something to hang out at. The service was good at the Lounge and they had a decent selection of high end liquor. I wasn't impressed with the banquet menu. Our lunch (sandwiches) were not really good. Our dinner buffet (we ordered the most expensive package) was decent. But nothing to rave home about.
Spa: Per the wife (spa expert) it was good. Nothing compared to (once again) the Montage or The Grand. The fitness room looked decent.
Golf: Although not technically part of the resort, it was great to have it right there. You do have to pay a hefty fee to book a group reservation in advance (but at least you have that option). YOu can bill F&B you get on the course to your room. Nothing like playing the South Course.

All in all, I think the golf course really markets for this lodge. Its nice to say that we stayed at Torrey Pines and played the 2008 US Open Course...I would definitely return, but most likely without kids. The whole resort has a prestigious feel and I thought my kids took it down a notch (so I apologize to the other guests..). Overall, we definitely did have a good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The front desk team, the valet, the bellman and housekeeping staff... amazing place. Turn down service with slippers by the bed...to a stocked mini bar, great views and beautiful property. LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I joined my wife on a business trip to this resort. While she attended her conference I was able to explore the grounds and really get to know this resort. Its an AMAZING place. Its located on a hill overlooking the pacific with a magnificient golf course that takes in all the views. Its built to look like a lodge with a lot of wood mouldings and fireplaces. Even our room had a fireplace. Its located just a short distance to the town of La Jolla which has fantastic shopping. This is a truly magnificient resort to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 96Roadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This property is for those who appreciate world class service in a unique environment. You have amazing golf, beautiful beach views set in a wooded landscape very authentic craftsman architecture.(my husband is an architect and he could not believe the attention to detail) The staff and service makes your stay seemless. I even forgot a rather large box that I needed for the next day and they called and overnighted it for me!! Patio dining at the restaurant serene. There is even a nice croquet course.
There is a great 4 mile walk to the beach (take some tennis shoes as it is a trail)

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water is most likely the best location however all the rooms seem well situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing