We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Nearby Hotels
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$258
$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$140
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveler rating
1,010
196
71
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,010
196
71
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillcraftsman stylegolf coursetorrey pinesar valentienarts and craftsstained glasspine treesnon golfersar valentinestate parktee timesgolf resortcar servicesan diegopro shopdel mar
Filter
Updating list...
1,193 - 1,198 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2008

It's a beautiful building, and the grounds are perfect...but there are two basic problems with the Lodge. First, as other reviews have indicated, the guest rooms are dark. With every light on, including the reading lights above the bed, the room seems dreary. Don't get me wrong...it's a large room and very nice, but just dark. Second, the marine layer was in during our entire stay and the air conditioning just could not keep up with the humidity in the room. The linens seemed damp and it was impossible to dry my hair.

Some housekeeping issues...the wallpaper by the shower/tub was falling off and the handle to the shower/tub was loose.

Staff at the hotel friendly and efficient.

We were told that the Grill was voted the best casual restaurant in San Diego, and it's good, but cannot be the second best place in the area.

Side note....the golf starter in the little start house was rude and seemed to hate his job when asked questions on rates, tee times, etc.

Overall, very nice, and I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I was lucky enough to go to the Lodge for work in early June. It's a beautiful hotel on a gorgeous property. The lobby is welcoming and well-appointed without feeling stuffy. Loved the fire in the fireplace and rocking chairs all around. The bar was a lot of fun. And I had excellent breakfasts on the porch. The private dining room for 12 of us one night was fantastic. The service across the entire property was outstanding.

My only complaint is that my room was in what could be called Siberia (if the hotel really had that) so my room was quite a walk from the lobby. But the space was lovely and I had my own little private porch to sit outside and read.

I would love to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MPD-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is my favorite resort. I enjoyed the golf , the spa and the locaation adjoining Torrey pines state park. The service was excellent and I will definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank macy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

You will not be disappointed with The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The staff was excellent, the grounds were immaculate, the service was beyond my expectations. At The Grill restaurant, I had one of the best martinis of my life and one of the finest meals...an amazing Ruby Trout. We stayed in one of the Palisade King rooms, overlooking the croquet lawn and 18th hole. The room was spacious, with a fireplace, a very roomy balcony, bathroom with a separate room for the toilet. The balcony is perfect. You know those balconies that while you are standing up everything looks great but when you sit down you can't see a thing? Well, this is not one of those. Two comfortable outdoor chairs and a table for your drinks, you can see the amazing sky, the sunset, the ocean and the beautiful pine trees.
I hope to visit again soon and often.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Waskerdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

It is easy to see why the Lodge at Torrey Pines has quickly earned a reputation as one of the finest places to stay in the San Diego area, combining stylish accommodations with first-class service, lovely coastal views, a posh health spa and exquisite dining at the resort's well-regarded A.R. Valentien restaurant. The earthy Craftsman architectural style popularized in early 20th-century California inspired this sybaritic 171-room retreat, which sits alongside the 18th fairway and green of La Jolla's Torrey Pines Golf Course.

The least expensive "Signature" rooms facing a landscaped courtyard are nice enough, but if money is no object, book one of the Palisades rooms overlooking the golf course and the sea. Either way, be sure to ask about package deals, especially if you plan to enjoy the in-house spa services or take advantage of guaranteed tee times on the Torrey Pines Golf Course. One word of warning: Don't be surprised by the occasional roar of military jets on training missions along the coast.

You could easily spend your entire visit on the 6.5-acre grounds, the golf course and the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve. If you want get off the grounds, the lodge offers complimentary transportation via chauffeured Mercedes anywhere within a five-mile radius (including downtown La Jolla). However, downtown San Diego is about a 20-minute drive south on Interstate 5.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luxlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews