We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East coast charm meets west coast views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“East coast charm meets west coast views”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I love the San Diego area and have stayed at many places in the area over the years, but it was a business event that finally brought me to The Lodge at Torrey Pines: what a special place! The service was precise, but relaxed. The decor was consistent and classic, without feeling "dated." The rooms were spacious with a well-apointed bathroom. I appreciated the complimentary bottle of water and WiFi as well as the turn-down service and overnight shoeshine. My only complaint was the relatively poor lighting in the room, but clearly there was a reason for this: one should take advantage of the outside while staying here! The setting is amazing, with spectacular views at every turn. I wish my golf game was up for the course, but enjoyed just watching golfers tee off as I had breakfast. Definitely worth a return trip for a get-away weekend.

Room Tip: Stay ocean/course side if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    178
    62
    19
    8
See reviews for
226
427
27
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly staff and old world charm from polished resort. Excellent location overlooking golf course, sea and right next door to State park. Nice pool area. Lots of lovely touches you would expect in top end resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is located very close to the Torrey Pines state reserve (10 minutes walk). Its surroundings are beautiful, with the golf courses overlooking the sea.
We stayed in a double queen room. The room is big, well furnished, nice bed and linens. There was a balcony but unfortunately the door was jammed.
We had breakfast at the Grill and it was great. I had the pancakes with blueberry and granola and it was huge!
Staff was very nice and polite, specially at the reception and front desk.
I thought that it was overpriced for what they offered. But all in all, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf courses and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie2013776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the moment I stepped onto the property until the moment I left, the staff was so attentive, the service so fantastic and the ambiance so amazing, I was blown away. The room was incredible, with a view of the golf course - the ocean in the offing. The staff is remarkable in their determination to make your stay flawless. Room service was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May for my birthday. The room was fantastic really spotlessly clean and the bathroom was super. The room overlooked the golf course and the pool. We had room service as I have mobility issues, the choice was extensive- the omelette especially delicious. I also had some spa treatments while my husband had a golf lesson with the pro. On the evening of my birthday we dined in the restaurant A.R.Valentin where we agreed the starter was possibly the best we had ever tasted. We really loved it here and hope to return same time next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willywoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildeer, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I view this as a above average priced golf course hotel. Nothing about our stay would I consider above average. From the service to the accommodations, we were provided a room, bed and average food. From the moment I checked in, the service seemed scripted. At the reception desk, I was asked to initial a number of forms on a computer screen indicating I understood the conditions of my stay. Very impersonal way to start a visit. When we went to our room, the patio door was off the hinge. Asked the valet about it and he said he would send someone to fix it. Never fixed. The room was average for the price and as stated before, nothing exceptional. We had one lunch at the hotel restaurant and as stated before, was average at best. Had a very limited menu. Overall, nothing terrible to say, but nothing that stands out for the price.

Overall, if you like Craftsman design, you'll enjoy this resort. I had no idea it built only 10 years ago. Feels much older. We've stayed at Kohler's America Club which is similar in price and the difference is night and day. Obviously far different locations, but I think the resort could do more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EcoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great place! Very fancy and confortable hotel with lots of places of entertainment. Beautiful golf court and also an amazing pool. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the hotel has also two great restaurants and a great service and fitness center. Parking place charged 25 dollars a day. Just conveniently 5 minutes driving to downtown La JOlla and 25 to San Diego. Very well located, close to the amazing Torrey Pines State Reserve. I recomend staying here, however it is not a cheap hotel and you also will need a car to get around. The only negative point is that i was with kids and the hotel doesn t have many entertainment options to the little ones. Besides that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelipeCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
877 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,149 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing