We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend with our 2 month old daughter. We were a little nervous as this was our daughter's first hotel stay so I sent an email to them in advance asking for a refrigerator and a crib and the fridge was already in our room when we got there and the crib was brought up a couple minutes after we got to the room so we were very happy.

The valet parking staff, the doormen, the front desk staff, and everyone we came in contact with were incredibly friendly and professional. The hotel did feel like a ski lodge which was funny since it was a pretty warm weekend in sunny San Diego. I really liked the architecture and the wood throughout the hotel and the room but my wife found it to be a little too dark for her tastes.

The room had plenty of space even with the crib beside the bed and the bathroom area was large as well. I liked that the TV had Direct TV and a wide variety of channels. The bed was probably a little too soft for my back but that's often a preference issue that I struggle with. We had a room on the 2nd floor but had a patio that walked out directly to a courtyard.

The location of the hotel is great and if I ever learn to golf I'll take advantage of the 2 courses that are steps away from the hotel. We spent a few minutes in the pool area but since our daughter is too young we didn't go in but in a few years I'm sure my daughter will love it.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    161
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
203
385
23
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of 4, two adults and two college age sons, just enjoyed a great stay at The Lodge at Torrey Pines. I was there for a short business meeting with a small group (less than 25) and the meeting room and food services were excellent. The only problem with our meeting room was that it offered a beautiful view of Hole #1 on Torrey Pines South and the Pacific Ocean beyond - what a distraction!
Our family enjoyed two connecting rooms, one with 2 queen beds for my over 6' sons, and one room with a king bed for the parents. Both rooms were quite ample, with a reading chair and ottoman, a work table, DirecTV, minibar and fridge, wireless internet and a small patio for relaxing. Each bathroom was spacious, with a single sink but plenty of marble countertop space for two and their toiletries, a shower bath, and a water closet.
The hotel includes a full-service spa, a partially shaded pool area, croquet and bocce ball recreation area, and two restaurants, one for fine dining and one for a casual breakfast, lunch or dinner. The casual restaurant, simply called the Grill, offers outdoor dining with a great view of the golfers teeing off on either the South or the North course at Torrey Pines. With the comfortable temperatures and low humidity, the outdoor dining at the grill quickly became our favorite spot for breakfast or lunch during the day. We sampled Valentien's only for weekend brunch on their outdoor deck - excellent.
I can't say enough about the genuine warmth, hospitality, attentiveness and experience of the staff. Our concierge, Lisa Marie, could not have been more helpful in selecting restaurants that suited our taste buds and the style of dining we wanted. Matthew was the first person to greet us upon our arrival, learned our names, took care of our luggage, transportation and golf bags, and by the end of the visit, we were comparing notes on our Tennessee Titans and his San Diego Chargers as we left!
Now, for golf. Expect magnificent golf with no resort frills, since this is one of the municipal courses of the City of San Diego. The Lodge has reserved preferred morning tee times on either the North or South course. Booking through the Lodge, greens fees are slightly higher than the pro shop non-resident rates. Twilight rates begin at 3PM during the summer and are substantially discounted from the daily rates. The courses get busy in late afternoon as a result; these lower rates are only available directly through the golf pro shop at Torrey Pines, not the Lodge.
The practice area is functional but definitely subpar in comparison to the rest of the golf. Expect rubber mats, credit card ball dispensers and chipping and sand areas that bear no resemblance to the actual courses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Flew down for a one day lunch in La Jolla. Uber'd from airport and down to lunch then back to airport. Hotel tries hard to be an old coastal gal in the Pines but cheap construction (you hear every door open/shut and TVs above and below) remind you this is a neuvo redux of a once classic. Now unfortunately, poorly executed construction priorities.

Still there is much magic to discover in any endeavor near the Lodge.

Room Tip: Balcony's are great, just don't open your door at 630am to sign kum by ah, the lawn care for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeTahoeExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our room overlooked the golf course and ocean. It was simply gorgeous. It is a very tranquil location.The bed was very comfortable. We had a large bathroom with a separate shower and separate bathtub.
The halls and room are dark because of the craftsman style. I didn't like the darkness initially, but found it to have a calming effect.
Breakfast in Valentins was very good. I booked under the platinum amex program. I found it to be a good value for what was included.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the golf course and ocean may be worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveledfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel before to less than much fanfare, but we decided to stay here again since we were in the area (La Jolla left an impression on us). There was a little mix up at the beginning (making us call the hotel in the turnaround just outside for a rate we were quoted), but the room and halls seemed to be updated and we loved the smells in the room and out on the balcony. It was extremely peaceful. The rest of the stay we spent enjoying the town even more as well as driving up to Laguna Beach, but throughout it all, the hotel was perfect in accommodating us and providing a relaxing area to enjoy the scenery and relax. We highly recommend staying here if you're in the area (even if you're not a golfer, which we definitely weren't).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soujourner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA/Paso
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had chosen this hotel for our 20th anniversary because it offered a challenging golf course and a spa, with an incredible vista, but we were pleasantly surprised how much more this hotel had to offer. The owners of the hotel are lovers of Craftsman era architecture, particularly Greene & Greene, and The Lodge at Torrey Pines is the reflection of the 10 years it took for them to collect everything from the art to the lamps and the design of the furniture, down to the art nouveau designs inlaid on the bed frames, the stained glass doors, the elevator doors -- the list is endless.

Added to this incredible venue is the level of service offered at this hotel. It is their goal to make a guest's experience pleasant. We did not encounter one unhappy employee -- and if they were unhappy, you would never know it from the genuine warmth that is extended from those who work there.

Unlike many hotels, instead of attempting to foist off their worst rooms on unsuspecting guests, they gave us one of their best, since it was our anniversary, and the view was breathtaking, overlooking the 18th hole, as well as the ocean.

The food at all the restaurants was wonderful, down to the quesadillas poolside. One person of note, Perry, in the Grill. His smiling face greeted us every morning and his buoyant spirit was nearly contagious. It would be hard to leave a breakfast served by Perry and not go out and spread his cheer throughout the world. A must try in the grill is the homemade root beer that they get locally. What a treat! I felt as if I really should have had this at the pool, with a scoop of ice cream in it!

I went to their spa for treatments more time than I will admit. Every treatment I had was excellent. All of their masseuses and aesthetitians were of the highest quality. The spa is spotlessly clean. If you place a towel in a basket, it is quietly gone, nearly instantly. The décor is in keeping with the period architecture and is done in an art deco/art nouveau manner, which works. The only recommendations I would make to improve the spa are aesthetic changes. Instead of having doors that open into the spa to welcome you, even though you can see the desk, you have to open this side door and zig-zag back to the front desk. Had they just had two doors that opened into the spa, it would beckon people to wander in, down the stairs and to look into their offerings.

The other item on my wish list for their spa is more spa area to relax, such as a quiet courtyard with a fountain, to which a guest could go before or after a treatment, so that a spa guest could keep their day a spa experience, rather than having to walk to the pool, only to have the joyous shouts of little ones shatter one's quiet composure. They do have a beautiful quiet room with a fireplace, but to me (an avid spa-goer), this seems more of like the waiting room for the treatments, not really some place I could spend the day, because the light is low and it's somewhat hard to read in there. When I go to a spa, I like to spend the day there, and limit my exposure the jarring realities of life. Again, I need to emphasize, this is not a complaint, just a wishlist item for improvement. The spa is immaculate, beautiful, and the treatments are excellent. Most of all, the spa is quiet. It offers what many other spas do not, peace and quiet. I appreciate that.

Many times, when returning from vacations, we are harried and for whatever reason, didn't feel like we'd been on vacation. When we returned from such an exemplary experience, we were rested and rejuvenated and ready to face whatever life throws our way -- until we can return to our safe haven!

Room Tip: 427 is one of the best rooms in the hotel. It is more expensive, but truly worth it. The view is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAKLA/Paso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Torrey Pines last week....fantastic .... Hotel is comfortable, friendly, unpretentious, luxurious without being too over the top....Valenines is wonderful...lemon ricotta pancakes we fabulous ... .access to golf course is simple and convenient.....

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing